Banner Image

World Media: Historical Newspapers

African Newspapers

Asian Newspapers

Australia

Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program
Effort to digitize public domain newspapers 1803-1954. Includes a range of newspapers from every state and territory. 
Update: As of January 2008, the first 500,000 pages have been scanned. Includes The Argus (1848–1945), Colonial times (1828-1857),Brisbane Courier (1864-1899), Sydney Gazette and New South Wales Advertiser (1803–1842), and many others. See: Beta Test Sitefor access.

Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
Digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840-1845. Includes select newspapers.

The Age (Melbourne, Australia) 
Available through Google News Archive, 1854-1989. In Advanced Search, type "Age" in the source field to search only this newspaper.

The Nambour Chronicle & North Coast Advertiser 1903-1955
"For 80 years it recorded and photographed local news, social, sporting and business activities, presented local opinions and advertisements, and effectively recorded the development of the area now known as the Sunshine Coast".

Sydney Mail 
Available through Google News Archive, 1860-1936. In Advanced Search, type "Sydney Mail" in the source field to search only this newspaper.

Sydney Morning Herald 
Available through Google News Archive, 1840-1989. In Advanced Search, type "Sydney Morning Herald" in the source field to search only this newspaper.

New Zealand  Chinese Journals

This database contains two Chinese language titles published in Wellington, New Zealand. The Man Sing Times (1921-1922) and New Zealand Chinese Weekly News (1937-1946) represent the small and largely rural Chinese New Zealand community.

Middle East

Europe

Europe Continued

© 2016 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site