Banner Image

Annotated Bibliography: Annotated Bibliography

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents.

Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation.

The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Annotations/Abstracts

Annotations are descriptive and critical; they expose the author's

  • point of view,
  • clarity and appropriateness of expression, and
  • authority.

 

Abstracts are the purely descriptive summaries often found at the beginning of scholarly journal articles or in periodical indexes. 

Annotated Bibliography ?

Steps to Creating an Annotated Bibliography

 

1. Search, locate and save citations of books, articles or other sources that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic; use the Get Started webpage.

2. Read and review the sources. Select sources that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

3. Construct citations for each source using the required style guide for your course. 

4. Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the books and articles you've selected.

Include one or more sentences that:

evaluate the authority or background of the author,

comment on the intended audience,

compare or contrast sources with others you have cited, or

explain how these sources contribute to your project.

 

Download this word doc. For more information about types of annotations


This website may help you develop your analysis;
 
Critically Analyzing Information Sources.

 

© 2016 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site