- Phillips Library: Get Started
- Research Guides
- Political Science Resources
- International Law
Political Science Resources: International Law
International Law Digests
General Online Resources
- HG Worldwide Legal Directory: Provides access to law, government, and related professional information.
- The Avalon Project: From Yale Law School, contains documents related to Law, History, and Government from ancient times to the present.
- Internet Legal Research Group: Contains more than 4,000 legal resources, including legal forms, lawyer and law-firm directory, expert testimony and consultant resources, etc.
- Globalex: Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU's School of Law, Globalex provides many excellent resources for students researching international and foreign law.
- World Legal Information Institute - Free independent and non-profit access to worldwide law.
- LLRX.com: Law and Technology Resources for Legal Professionals
American Society of International Law
ASIL's electronic research tools provide access to international law resources from primary source documents to asil publications. In addition, our Electronic Resource Guide is available to you in conducting your own online research.
 |
To search this electronic database of international treaties and conventions, web sites and other research tools click here. |
 |
For an electronic guide to assist you in conducting online research click here. |
 |
A public online database of select US court cases and legal materials, i.lex is designed to serve as a practical resource for judges, other legal professionals, and scholars in identifying and understanding how international law in its many forms is interpreted and applied by courts in the United States at both the federal and state level. i.lex may be accessed online. |
 |
The Reports on International Organizations are a production of ASIL's Interest Group on International Organizations. For more information, click here. |
Customary Law
Researching customary law is as complex as it is essential. Some useful (but by no means all) sources include: digests of state practice (for those nations that keep them); domestic/municipal law; and international law yearbooks. Actions by international governmental organizations (such as the U.N.) may also serve as evidence of customary law. For these actions, see the United Nations/IGOs section of this guide
International Law Sources
-
Peace PalaceThe Peace Palace Library is one of the oldest and most prestigious libraries specialized in international law. Its principal objective is to service the institutions that reside in the Peace Palace, including the International Court of Justice, the Permanent Court of Arbitration, and the Hague Academy of International Law. But the Library is equally open to employees of all other international legal institutions inThe Hague, as well as to all scholars and students of international law.
-
Refugee Caselaw SiteThe core collection contains cases from the highest national courts of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Since 2004, the collection has been incrementally expanded to include decisions from 28 other asylum countries, as well as the most important decisions of lower courts and tribunals in the core collection states.
-
International Law: Lex MercatoriaInternational Law: Lex Mercatoria
Dedicated to the provision of information on international commercial law with subsidiary interests in commerce and (mostly open standard) Net and information technologies that may be of interest to law academics and professionals worldwide.
Texts of Foreign Laws
For the most part, the resources below include gateways to web sites containing foreign law.
- Globalcourts
Access to supreme court decisions world wide.
- Government Gazettes Online
From Michigan University Library. Gazettes are the official means of communication from the government to the general public. They often contain legislation and other primary source documentation.
- Lawinfochina
A nearly comprehensive collection of laws and regulations from China. Coverage for cases is selective. Nearly all of the content is available in both English and Chinese; a few items are in Chinese only. Covers 1949 to present (updated daily).
- LexisNexis
Laws for many foreign jurisdictions, as well as legal materials from the European Communities/European Union. See the LexisNexis Directory of Online Services: http://web.nexis.com/sources/
- Nations of the World
From the law Library of Congress, Global Information Network (GLIN). Full-text laws and regulations in the official language of the country of origin and summaries or abstracts in English. Sites for over 230 jurisdictions are included. Also includes legal guides.
- Statutes of the Republic of South Korea
Full-text of around 800 statutes from the Republic of Korea in English, along with amendment history and articles. Covers Coverage 1945 to present.
- Swiss Institute of Comparative Law
Houses the European Documentation Center, which provides access to the official documentation published by the European Union.
- Translex
A research platform for international law. Contains domestic statutes, international conventions, model laws, restatements and materials relevant for research in transnational law and international business law.
- Westlaw
Laws for many foreign jurisdictions, as well as legal materials from the European Communities/European Union. See the Westlaw Database Directory:http://directory.westlaw.com/
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Caselaw, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals, and other materials from foreign countries.
- Kodeks
A Russian-language database of legislation from Russia, including Moscow, St. Petersburg, and the republics,
regions and territories of the Russian Federation. Includes legislative acts issued by approximately 200 executive, legislative, and judicial branches of Russia.
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site