The Facts On File Dictionary of Environmental Science covers the terms and concepts used in the high school Advanced Placement course in environmental science. Like the subject - which is interdisciplinary and involves ideas from a number of fields of study - this volume deals with the science behind interrelationships of the natural world as well as with natural and human environmental problems. In terms high school and undergraduate students will understand, it explains the underlying principle of environmental science which holds that the Earth is a single interconnected system that can be altered by human activity and that cultural, social, and economic factors are vital to the development of environmental solutions and it defines the various terms, issues, and ideas that constitute the fundamental elements of the science.
The relationships between living organisms and the environment, including biological and human-made factors. Often called "ecology."
Green energy reports and information, most from U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Search for information on green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others types of renewable energy.
This site describes itself as "an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth." They plan to have a page on each organism on earth.
This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
This multidisciplinary database provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Environmental Science supplements the database with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records.
SRS is the Environmental Protection Agency's central system for information about substances that are tracked/regulated by EPA or other sources. It is the authoritative resource for basic information about chemicals, biological organisms, and other substances of interest.
Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 200 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.
This highly visual site covers the phenomenon of oceanic dead zones, in particular the recurring one in the Gulf of Mexico. The causes and effects on the ecosystem are covered in easy-to-understand language. From the Science Museum of Minnesota.
Tox Town is designed to give you information on everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals, non-technical descriptions of chemicals, links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet, how the environment can impact human health and Internet resources on environmental health topics; provided by the National Library of Medicine
TOXMAP is a Geographic Information System (GIS) from the Division of Specialized Information Services of the National Library of Medicine that uses maps of the United States to help users visually explore data from the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)'s Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and Superfund Program.