Banner Image

Shakespeare Studies: Shakespeare Collections/Archives

New York Public Library for the Performing Arts

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts houses one of the world's most extensive combination of circulating, reference, and rare archival collections in its field. These materials are available free of charge, along with a wide range of special programs, including exhibitions, seminars, and performances. An essential resource for everyone with an interest in the arts--whether professional or amateur--the Library is known particularly for its prodigious collections of non-book materials such as historic recordings, videotapes, autographed manuscripts, correspondence, sheet music, stage designs, press clippings, programs, posters and photographs.

Shakespeare in American Life from the Folger Shakespeare Library

National Theatre Archive, London, UK

Globe Theatre, London, UK

Touchstone

Shakespearean Collections

Many of the Archival and Special Collections highlighted on this page specialize in primary and/or secondary materials associated with the works of William Shakespeare either in print or performance.  This is a selective list and does not encompass all the Shakespearean collections around the world.  Even though a collection may be located on the other side of the world, you will have the ability to use their catalogs or contact them via email to see if they have the material you are searching for.  The following link to an NYU Research Guide will assist you in determining what constitutes a primary source, how they can be used to enhance your research, and how to properly cite them:

The Shakespeare Quartos Archive

Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington DC

The Henslowe-Alleyn Digitisation Project

Cornell University Library Witchcraft Collection

Shakespeare Centre Library & Archive, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK

William Shakspeare's Small Latine & Lesse Greeke, by T. W. Baldwin

Harvard Theatre Collection

Horace Howard Furness Memorial Library, University of Pennsylvania, PA

Furness Image Collection

Royal Shakespeare Company, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK

© 2017 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site