Banner Image

Chemistry Resources: Getting Started in Chemistry Research

Finding Chemistry Articles in Library Databases

Mount St. Mary's students and faculty now have access to the e-library resources at the National Cancer Institute's Advanced Technology Research Facility (ATRF), in Frederick, MD.  For more information see the NCI Research Guide.

The effect of this collaboration is that students can visit the facility or search their database for extensive current resources in the biochemical field.  If an article is found in this database, an interlibrary loan can be requested (mentioning the NCI source) and NCI will fill it within 24 hours. NCI Scientific Library.

Books Online at the Mount

Introduction

When starting your research in chemistry and associated topics, you have to clarify your topic, narrow it down and decide what kinds of sources you will need. These may include print books and journals, eBooks and eJournals,  databases and websites.

In the sciences you may also need studies, particularly empirical ones; and, in almost every discipline you will have to use scholarly or peer-reviewed journals. Some databases (such as EBSCOhost) allow you to narrow your search to these types of formats.

EBSCO  and ProQuest databases and WorldCat provide citation help.  When using these features, it is still a good idea to check the citations provided against the Style manual being used.

 Many of your professors may want you to differentiate between sources, primary, secondary or tertiary.  There is also a differentiation between research and review article.

BE SURE TO CHECK OUT THE DATABASES BY SUBJECT TAB ON THE "BEGIN YOUR DISCOVERY PAGE".

 

Start Searching in WorldCat Discovery

The Library's home page features a search box that functions as a "Google-like" single search.  This is a good start to a search.  A better approach is to use the WorldCat Discovery tab to initiate an advanced search.

To learn more go to the  Doing An Advanced Search Page.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Now Available Online.

ACS Style Guide

Dictionary of Chemistry

Reference Book in the Library

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site