Banner Image

World War II and the Holocaust: Historic German Newspapers

Newspapers

Amtspresse Preussens 
Open access archive to two widely distributed and influential Prussian newspapers from the second half of the 19th century, the Provinzial-Correspondenz, 1863-1884 and the Neueste Mittheilungen, 1882-1894.

Bayerische Landesbibliothek Online - Schwerpunkt Zeitungen
Historical archive of newspapers from the Bavarian State Archives and others. Contains Coburger Zeitung [1854/61-1935], Coburger Nationalzeitung [1930-1945], and others.

Compact Memory
A digital collection of 118 Jewish periodicals from German-speaking countries, 1806-1938.

DDR-Presse (Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin)
Digitized versions of three East German newspapers (Neues DeutschlandBerliner Zeitung, and Neue Zeit). Requires registration, may be open only to patrons in Germany.

Exilpresse Digital : Deutsche Exilzeitschriften, 1933-1945 
Newspapers and periodicals published by various exile communities before and during World War II.

Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung Archiv $
Offers two portals to acecss historical content of the Frankfurter Allgemeine ZeitungF.A.Z.-Biblionet (offering coverage from 1993-present) and F.A.Z.49-92 (covering hitorical content back to the paper's founding). See CRL's Product Review for details.

Freiburger Historische Bestände - digitalisiert 
Digitized pages of Freiburger Zeitung (1784-1943) and Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) and other material. Browseable by date.

Pressemappe 20. jahrhunderts
Retrospective digitization of economic press articles from the Institute for World Economy (IfW) and the Hamburg World Economy Archives (HWWA), 1826-1948.

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin - Die digitale Bibliothek 
Digitized images of newspapers in German and other languages published in Germany. Contains brosweable issues of more than 70 titles in varying runs (often produced through the State Library's digitization on demand program). Includes Berliner Gerichts-Zeitung [1853-1869], Deutsch-Ostafrikanische Zeitung [1899-1916], Die Feder [1898-1917], Neustädter Kreisblatt [1852-1911], and Reichswart[1920-1936] among others.

Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg - Zeitungen
Archive of newspapers from Augsburg (Bavaria). Contains Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung [1770-1806].

Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg - Zeitschriften und Zeitungen
Contains digital images of field newspapers from World War IHeidelberger Zeitung (1861-1919), and Der Heidelberger Student(1929-1938), among other items. Also provides access to Relation (Straßburg, 1609) "the oldest newspaper in the world."

ULB Halle - Historische Zeitungen - digital
Project to digitize retrospective newspapers held by the Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt in Halle. Will include titles such as Naumburger Tageblatt (1911-1933) and others.

Die Vossische Zeitung Online. 1918-1934 $
Full-text database covering the complete run (including foreign editions) of this significant paper of the Weimar period. Available for purchase through de Gruyter.

Die Zeit
National weekly newspaper. Chronological access to print and online articles from its beginning (1946) to the present. Does not allow page image access.

ZEFYS 
From the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, an extensive collection of digitized newspapers,

© 2017 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site