America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
America: History and Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index™ (ATLA CPLI™) provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Content within its scope is selected for indexing based on enduring scholarly merit. ATLA CPLI contains indexing from 1981 to the present and is updated quarterly. Indexing for ATLA CPLI contains index records produced by the Catholic Library Association (CLA) from 1980 through the November 2011 update of the database. Records produced by The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) will begin appearing with the February 2012 update. ATLA acquired ATLA CPLI in September 2011 and holds the copyright for ATLA CPLI.
The American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection -- Series 1 presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. The collection includes many volumes in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and other languages besides English, documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages.
Searchable full text and facsimiles of important writings and papers from early America ( early American newspapers and magazines and include the Declaration of Independence and Constitution, the Northwest Ordinance, and Jay's Treaty, among others).
Mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Search or browse the Federalist Papers, the Nuremburg War Crimes Trial, Inaugual addresses of the Presidents, Colonial Charters and related documents, and hundreds of others
from ancient to modern times.
Searchable collection of the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including:
• Annals of Congress, 1789-1824
• Register of Debates, 1824-1837
• Congressional Globe, 1833-1873
• Congressional Record, 1873-1875
• Bills and Resolutions
• Statutes at Large
• American State Papers 1789-1838, Vol. II. Indian Affairs
• U.S. Serial Set
This site from the Library of Congress will ultimately contain the full text of historically significant newspapers from all the states and U.S. territories published between 1836 and 1922. It is currently in the process of being built and only some states and years are available.