Banner Image

Early Modern England: Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles

Using Databases to Find Articles

On the Online Resources Page, there are listed three kinds of journal databases.  One is for primary sources online, one is for Mount Saint Mary's proprietary (subscribed to) databases, and the third is for free online sites of use in this course.  In any database you must clearly state your search query.  The occupations your professor has listed, in the early modern period, are a good starting place. Using the term "Early Modern England"  and the trade is a great basic search strategy.  

JSTOR and Project Muse are all scholarly.  In EBSCO you can choose to limit your search to only those that are scholarly and peer-reviewed.

Below are some terms that are used and some which are augmented for clarity:

  • weaver
  • potato farmer
  • coffeehouse proprietor
  • turner - carpenters - apprentices
  • book printer - pressmen -  printing 
  • coal miner - coal mines

What are Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Journals?

Most databases offer an option to limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. While this option can be helpful, be aware that the databases can sometimes be inconsistent (and questionable) in what they identify as scholarly or peer-reviewed. Ultimately, you will want to make the determination of whether or not an article is appropriate for your needs using some of the strategies listed below or in consultation with your professor.

 

Scholarly or peer-reviewed articles usually have the following features:

  • The journals in which they appear are often published quarterly at most
  • The articles are substantial (not just 2 or 3 pages)
  • The author(s) are named, along with their affiliations (such as university or research institute)
  • The journals in which they appear contain little or no advertising, glossy pictures or other decorative graphics. Illustrations are usually limited to charts and graphs.
  • The articles include a list of references. (This is helpful, because if you find one good scholarly article, it will lead you to other potentially useful resources).
  • The articles are written at a level assuming a certain level of prior knowledge. Unlike articles in newspapers or popular magazines, which are written for the general public, scholarly articles are written for an audience of scholars, practitioners or students in the discipline.

Is it peer-reviewed?

  • If you find an article in a library database, often the database will identify the journal as being peer-reviewed or refereed.
  • Search for the journal title in MLA Directory of Publications, which identifies important aspects of journals.
  • Check the journal's front or back pages, or its website, for evidence of a peer-review process. This information is often found under information for authors, submission guidelines or editorial policies.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in EBSCO

Chat with a Librarian

Have a question or need help finding something?

Use the chat window below to send an instant message during our regular library hours.

Give us a few minutes to answer your chat message. Sometimes we get pulled away from the desk unexpectedly. If you don't hear back from us right away, please make sure to leave an email  address or phone number so we can contact you.

 

© 2017 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site