Banner Image

American Government and Politics: Foreign Policy

Recommended Books

Legal and Regulatory Sources for Seeking Information

Legal and Regulatory Sources for Conducting Information Research on U.S. Foreign Policy Include:

U.S. Code Title 22
Public Laws (1995-present)
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal Register
Regulations.gov

 GPO Accesss

 

 

Open Source Resource

Digital documents from pre-18th century to present. Coverage is international, but the primary focus is on the U.S. From Yale.

Core Databases from Mount St. Mary's University

EBSCO e-books

Search "Foreign Policy"

Library of Congress Classification System

Want to browse the shelves? Here are the Library of Congress call numbers for foreign policy and related subjects:

E183.7-183.9  U.S. Diplomatic history.  Foreign and general relations.

GN301‑674   Ethnology.  Social and cultural anthropology

HG3810-4000   Foreign exchange.  International finance. International monetary system

JA71‑80   Theory.  Relations to other subjects

JC11‑605   Political theory.  The state.  Theories of the state

JV6001‑9480   Emigration and immigration.  International migration

JZ5‑6530   International relations

KZ2‑6795   Law of nations

Associations

  • American Foreign Policy Council
    Non-profit, non-partisan organization that brings information to those who make/influence U.S. foreign policy. Articles, news briefs, etc.
  • Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
    Conducts programs of research, discussion, publication, and education in international affairs and U.S. foreign policy. Working papers, news briefs, etc.
  • Council on Foreign Relations
    Non-partisan and non-ideological membership organization and think tank which provides insights into international affairs and develops new ideas for U.S. foreign policy, particularly national security and foreign economic policy.
  • Foreign Policy Association
    National, non-profit, non-partisan, non-governmental, educational organization founded to educate Americans about significant world issues. Provides impartial publications, programs and forums designed to increase public awareness of international issues. Online discussions, news, maps, links to other sites, etc.
  • Henry L. Stimson Center
    Independent, non-profit public policy research institution which concentrates on national and international security issues. Reports, transcripts of electronic conferences, links to other sites, etc.
  • Hoover Institution (Stanford University)
    Public policy research center concentrating on domestic and international affairs. Newsletter, weekly essays, links to the library, archives, etc.
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)
    Participates in the development of cooperative security structures for the whole of Europe. Fact sheets, press archive, speeches, basic texts (treaties, agreements, declarations, etc.), briefings and background information, etc.
  • Rand
    Non-partisan and non-profit public policy research institution. Publications, educational and employment opportunities, etc.
  • SHAFR: Society for Historians of American Foreign Relations
    Studies and disseminates knowledge of American foreign relations, and works to improve communication among historians in the field. Newsletter, links to other sites.
  • United Nations
    Committed to preserving peace through international cooperation and collective security. Online publications, press releases and briefings, databases, etc.
  • United States Institute of Peace
    Independent, non-partisan federal institution created and funded by Congress to strengthen the nation's capacity to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflict. Webcasts, special reports, library, peace agreements digital collection, links to other sites, etc.
© 2016 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site