This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
America: History and Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Literature Online is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 341 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Searchable index of over 5500 international language, literature, linguistics, and folklore related sources. Sources are indexed in MLA Bibliography. Provides journal name, scope and focus, publication frequency, mission, advertising rates, etc.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers.
"The American Presidency Project (americanpresidency.org), was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Our archives contain 87,758 documents related to the study of the Presidency."
.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873.
This searchable database will consist of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the Forty-second Congress. The first release contains the records of the first two federal congresses, 1789-1793, including the Journals of the House of Representatives (1789-1793) and the Senate (1789-1793), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1805).
This site from the Library of Congress will ultimately contain the full text of historically significant newspapers from all the states and U.S. territories published between 1836 and 1922. It is currently in the process of being built and only some states and years are available.
Links to U.S. historical documents with background information about the document, a list of links to digital materials concerning that document from the Library's site and elsewhere, and bibliographies both for general readers and for younger readers.
Statesman's Yearbook "includes reliable information on every country in the world, covering key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives."
Searchable achive of over 30,000 nightly news programs and special news-related programs such as presidential press conferences, Watergate hearings, etc. Abstracts are available online and loans of the programs themselves for a fee.
THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress. The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include the features and content listed below.
Activity in Congress
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers. In general, it includes: committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:
* Strengthen American democracy;
* Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and
* Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system."