America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) Online is the product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association. The database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 470,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
Indexing for CPLI Online corresponds to the print version, Catholic Periodical and Literature Index, published by the Catholic Library Association and covers content from over 200 periodicals. Coverage in the database dates back to 1981.
Literature Online, a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 341 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Searchable index of over 5500 international language, literature, linguistics, and folklore related sources. Sources are indexed in MLA Bibliography. Provides journal name, scope and focus, publication frequency, mission, advertising rates, etc.
A Research Guide and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
Founded in 1995, JWA is devoted to making known the stories, struggles, and achievements of Jewish women in North America in order to enrich the way we understand the past and to ensure a more inclusive future.
The Research Libraries of NYPL hold vast resources for the study of women's history. Consult this research guide to learn how to navigate the collections and catalogs, find background information, see recommended bibliographies, and identify women's history sources related to literature, history, philosophy, social sciences, law, health, and more.
The National Park Service has developed this National Register of Historic Places travel itinerary, Places Where Women Made History. This itinerary focuses on 75 historic places in New York and Massachusetts associated with the varied aspects women's history. You will learn about the accomplishments of many American women who made outstanding contributions to education, government, medicine, the arts, commerce, women's suffrage and the early civil rights movement.
The Women's Memorial is a unique, living memorial honoring all military women - past, present and future - and is the only major national memorial honoring women who have served in our nation's defense during all eras and in all services.
"Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs."