Developing an understanding of human experience and culture requires access to historical documentation in many forms and subject areas. The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University preserves such documentation and promotes its use.
The Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) is more than a traditional library. Recognizing that our customers no longer expect to work within the walls of a library, these pages are designed to provide NARA staff and researchers nationwide with convenient access to content beyond the physical holdings of our two traditional libraries.
"African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920."
The Cleveland Memory Project is a collaborative community effort to mount photos, texts and A/V resources about the history of Greater Cleveland and Northeast Ohio, hosted by the Michael Schwartz Library at the Cleveland State University Library.
Online exhibit from the National Women's History Museum. The exhibit seeks to present African American women collectively and exceptionally throughout American history.
African American Women Writers of the 19th Century“ a digital collection of some 53 published works by 19th Century black women writers. This collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920…” from the site
From Camille: "Gordon–Reed opens her preface this way: 'It seems especially appropriate to tell one part of the story of slavery through life at a place that holds such symbolic importance for many Americans – Monticello. For it is there that we can find the absolute best, and the absolute worst, that we have been as Americans. We should not get too far into the twenty – first century without looking back at the Hemingses and their time to remember and learn.'"
From Amazon.com: "This volume explores the roles black women played in their communities' social movements and the consequences of elevating women into positions of visibility and leadership. Martha Jones reveals how, throughout the 19th century, the "woman question" was at the core of movements against slavery and for civil rights..."
From Amazon.com: "This comprehensive pictorial history tells the story of Black women in eight parts: Family Life, Work, Hair, Resistance, Class, Education, Religion and Community, and Inner Life. In addition to 302 carefully chosen images, the editors provide descriptive captions and quotations from letters, diaries, journals, and other sources."
From Amazon.com: "Though she was born into slavery and subjected to physical and sexual abuse by her owners, Sojourner Truth, who eventually fled the South for the promise of the North, came to represent the power of individual strength and perseverance. She championed the disadvantaged--black in the South, women in the North--yet spent much of her free life with middle-class whites, who supported her, yet never failed to remind her that she was a second class citizen...."