Banner Image

Asia: Central Asia

General Websites

Culture and the Arts

Government and Politics

Human Rights

Map of Central Asia

The term Central Asia in one definition refers to the Central Asian republics of the former Soviet Union, i.e.  Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.  Afghanistan is included here and under South Asia.

The peoples of Central Asia speak predominantly Turkic (Turkish, Turkmen, Uzbek, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Azeri, etc) and Iranian (Persian, Tajik, Pushtu, etc.) languages.


© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site