An invaluable resource. MEMO (created in 1998) is a free site providing access to a rich array of “cultural voyages” relating to French and European historical heritage.It is extremely rich in contents, including encyclopedic information as well as thousands of historical and cultural “dossiers” created by acknowledged researchers, historians, and university faculty.
Provides full-text access to works in French by French and Francophone authors, and translations of foreign works into French. A vast database developed by Pierre Perroud of full-text books and documents, primarily of French and Swiss authors.
Digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.
Dictionary of France is an encyclopedic dictionary that glosses the cultural icons and emblems of modern France. It includes prominent people in modern France, institutions , organizations, the defining moments of modern French history, and other words and phrases that belong to life in modern France, but can leave the foreigner totally perplexed.
Part of WESS Web (Western European Studies Section Association of College and Research Libraries).
The French Studies Web provides annotated links to scholarly web resources. It does not strive for exhaustiveness. Where possible, links to high-quality, scholarly meta-sites are give
Many think of Muslims in Europe as a twentieth century phenomenon, but this book brings to life a lost community of Arabs who lived through war, revolution, and empire in early nineteenth century France.