AtoZ World Business is the world’s most comprehensive country-by-country resource for success in international business and trade. AtoZ World Business consists of 100 Country Business Guides of 108 topics each and 76 World Trade Resources.
The Business Association of Latin American Studies is the first international organization to focus exclusively on economics in Latin America and the Caribbean. The home page provides membership information as well as news and resources.
Current economic indicators, briefings, and forecasts for many Latin American countries. Includes links to current country newspapers, official statistics, country reports, etc., as well as news and publications. Available in English or Spanish.
An online news service that provides access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). Produced by the University of New Mexico
The Electoral Observation Section of the Secretariat for Political Affairs' Department of Electoral Cooperation and Observation is responsible for organizing, implementing, and following up on all OAS Electoral Observation Missions (OAS/EOMs). Check both the current missions and the archive.
Accounts of U.S. empire building in Latin America typically portray politically and economically powerful North Americans descending on their southerly neighbors to engage in lopsided negotiations. Dennis Merrill's comparative history of U.S. tourism in Latin America in the twentieth century demonstrates that empire is a more textured, variable, and interactive system of inequality and resistance than commonly assumed. In his examination of interwar Mexico, early Cold War Cuba, and Puerto Rico during the Alliance for Progress, Merrill demonstrates how tourists and the international travel industry facilitated the expansion of U.S. consumer and cultural power in Latin America. He also shows the many ways in which local service workers, labor unions, business interests, and host governments vied to manage the Yankee invasion. While national leaders negotiated treaties and military occupations, visitors and hosts navigated interracial encounters in bars and brothels, confronted clashing notions of gender and sexuality at beachside resorts, and negotiated national identities. Highlighting the everyday realities of U.S. empire in ways often overlooked, Merrill's analysis provides historical context for understanding the contemporary debate over the costs and benefits of globalization.
"El usuario de esta Biblioteca Americana encontrará en ella una gran cantidad de documentos textuales y audiovisuales que le permitirán acercarse, entre otros, a espacios tan diversos como la literatura gauchesca, la cultura hispana en Estados Unidos o la creación brasileña; al mundo barroco de sor Juana Inés de la Cruz o a la realidad más contemporánea en la poesía de Mario Benedetti..."
The Latin American Government Documents Archive (LAGDA) seeks to preserve and facilitate access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and will continue with regularly scheduled captures.
Un instrumento de conocimiento para la acción sobre las instituciones representativas de los países de América Latina, los procesos en los que éstas se hallan inmersas y los principales actores que despliegan sus estrategias en estos entramados; su finalidad es, por lo tanto, la de establecer diagnósticos que contribuyan a potenciar la calidad de las democracias de la región.
Designed to provide access to primary sources on Latin American politics. This includes the full text of constitutions, electoral laws, information from the legislative and executive branches of governments, as well as election data. Also useful is the site's links to newspapers and journals from the region.
authoritative source for information on the state of education around the world. It provides key information on the output of educational institutions; the impact of learning across countries; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organization of schools. Older reports available at website.
The Latin American region of the IRN promotes international communication and exchange through scholarship to expand knowledge and understanding related to LGBTQI issues and the availability of academic resources in the region.