Banner Image

Middle East: Jordan

Government and Politics


Flag and Map



Jordan is a constitutional monarchy, with the king effectively head of state and government. The 1952 constitution, as amended, provides for a two-chamber national assembly comprising a 55-member senate, appointed by the king for an eight-year term (one-half rotating every four years), and an 110-member house of representatives (house of deputies), comprising 104 deputies elected by universal suffrage for a four-year term and six female deputies elected by a special electoral college. Christians are reserved nine seats in the house and Chechens/Circassians three. The house is subject to dissolution by the king within that period. The king governs with the help of a council of ministers whom he appoints and who are responsible to the assembly. The king commands the armed forces, signs all laws, appoints and dismisses judges, and approves amendments to the constitution, but his veto power can be overridden by a two-thirds vote of both chambers of the national assembly. The prime minister is the most senior member of the council of ministers. The cabinet can be forced to resign by a two-thirds vote of ‘no confidence’ by the house of representatives

Former and Current Monarchs of Jordan

hussein I of Jordan

King Hussein bin Talal (1935-1999)


Queen Noor

Former Queen Noor of Jordan (1951- )


Abdullah II

Abdullah II bin Al-Hussein (1962- )

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site