Banner Image

Writing in College: The Mount's Resources

Basics at the Mount

Accessing the Library from Off-Campus

From the the WorldCat button, which takes you to the Advanced Search, you will see two tabs on the top of the right side of the screen.

Click on this and you will see:

 

 When you click on Off-campus login you will get a screen that asks for your Mount user name (minus the email. part) and Mount password.  From there you will have full access to all the Mount's subscriptions.

You can use the Phillips Mobile button to gain a mobile friendly interface.

First, Broad Search

The first place to start a search is in WorldCat. Clicking this box will take you to an advanced search.  Filters are available to narrow your search. You can choose scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles or other formats.  You can restrict the dates being searched, and you can limit your search to only things in Mount St. Mary's catalog.

In the advanced search you can use fields to further refine your search.  Using the Drop-down menus you can request an item by subject, keyword, author, etc.

Additional Filters

Once you have some results, you can narrow your search by using  filters on the left side of the page.  These can help you pare down your findings, for example by date, author or topic..

Databases

There are three ways to search for databases.  The first is by topic (Communication Studies), the second by source (reference, newspapers etc.) and by letter, the first word in a database or newspaper (e.g. JSTOR or Wall Street Journal.

Using EBSChost databases

One of the best databases for all subjects is EBSCO  seen above under Journal Finder. If you click on EBSCO you will have a choice between eBook and articles.  Choose the one below for eResources not eBooks.

Note that you can limit to Full Text and Peer Reviewed articles.  

Once in the EBSCO platform, you can limit or expand on the discipline-specific database you want.  To examine all choices, click on the graphic below to see the choices.

Each specific database has its own limiters.  Generally, all databases have filters listed on the left of the page.

 

 

Specific Databases

When writing papers it is necessary to have facts to base your thesis upon.  Many times, you will need to present and defend an argument.  All databases contain information, some are better at helping to understand the finer points of communication and exposition.  We list a few here that will help examine several sides of an issue,

Current Events, Editorials, Public Opinion

Public opinion as well as that of the media influences a lot of what passes for news in our world.  Much of this can be gleaned from social media, but, much was, and is gleaned from newspapers.

We have access to three influential newspapers, including the back file of the New York Times, that goes back to 1851.

New York Times 1980-present

New York Times Historical - 1851 to 2010 

Wall Street Journal 

Washington Post

There is also a plethora of online blogs and websites.

New York Times Blog Directory

Huffington Post

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site