eNotes.com is a comprehensive online educational resource.
From enotes.cam About "Our content is all fact-checked, edited, and written by professionals who are experts in their field. It comes from our in-house publishing unit or from Academic Publishers.
Provides access to research tools for French language and literature, including French language dictionaries and other reference works, as well as ARTFL-FRANTEXT, which includes "more than 2,900 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries."
A free online collection of stories and poems in Mp3 (audiobook) format. Browse by author, title, or search the database by author, title, or reading level. Many selections can be downloaded directly into iTunes or your Mp3 player. You can also read the stories online.
The British Broadcasting Corp. provides podcasts in which leading authors from across the globe discuss their works. Be careful about citing podcasts in papers. I suggest using this mainly for your own general interest in literature.
Free e-texts of world's greatest literature, including fiction, poetry, drama, and limited non-fiction and reference sources. Includes study guides for students and teachers and bulletin board for posting opinions and queries.
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. The OAPEN Foundation is an international initiative dedicated to Open Access monograph publishing, based at the National Library in The Hague.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
1,800 publicly-available e-books including classic British and American fiction, major authors, children's literature, the Bible, Shakespeare, American history, African-American documents, and much more. Each text on this list can be accessed in HTML (web version) for online viewing, and can be downloaded as both a MS Reader E-book for the Microsoft Reader and a Palm-readable text for the Palm Reader. The catalog is browsable by subject and title.
This website compiles translations of over 125 women writers, "women who produced a substantial amount of work before 1700." Each entry contains background on the author and that particular work, useful secondary sources and Internet sites.
An integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in Dante's Divine Comedy (from University of Texas, Austin).
The more famous and some lesser known authors of Greek and Roman literature, as well as a few Chinese and Persian works. One can also see other readers' opinions and thoughts on the works and respond to them or post one's own. A search engine is provided.
"An experiment in literary technology. Open Source Shakespeare attempts to be the best free website containing Shakespeare's complete works. It is intended for scholars, thespians, and Shakespeare lovers of every kind."
Primary and secondary sources for the study of Ancient Greece and Rome, Germanic cultures, Arabic cultures, the Renaissance and 19th Century American literature. Includes the full text of well-known books, philological tools, maps, and illustrated art catalogs. Searchable.
"The second version of Representative Poetry On-line includes over 2,000 English poems by 310 poets from the early medieval period to the beginning of the twentieth century." Poems are indexed and can be browsed by poet name, date, or title.