Banner Image

U.S. Catholic History: Catholic Studies Room

The Vision

 

Located on the 2nd floor, North Balcony of the Phillips Library, the Catholic Studies Room provides a special, highly visible setting for the use and display of the many rare and valuable resources concerning the histories of the Mount, the Church, and Catholicism. The creation of the Catholic Studies Room serves as a pivotal piece of the Mount’s overall Strategic Plan to create a 21st century library and to “develop Maryland’s most comprehensive collection in Theology.”  Aesthetically, the large, North-facing windows allow for significant inflow of natural light and a beautiful view of the Academic Quad on Main Campus.

 

The creation and enhancement of the Catholic Studies Room has:

Allowed for the proper housing and care of the Library’s rare book collection;

Provided support for faculty, graduate, and undergraduate scholarship in Theology, Philosophy, and Catholic Studies;

Elevated the Mount’s academic profile as an institution sought-after by Catholic scholars;

Enriched our overall campus intellectual climate through attracting local researchers and visitors to view and use the Collection.

 

The Current Collection highlights include:

The St. John’s Bible: Given to Mount St. Mary’s courtesy of The Most Reverend Harry J. Flynn, S’60, Archbishop Emeritus of Saint Paul and Minneapolis, the Heritage Edition is the full-size fine art reproduction of the original. Each volume is signed by the chief scribe and illuminator, Donald Jackson. The edition is limited to 300 signed and numbered sets and contains the same seven volumes as the original. Many of the illuminations are touched-up by hand, including the burnishing of gold leaf. The Heritage Edition of the St. John’s Bible is currently on display in the Catholic Studies Room

Acta Sanctorum (Acts of the Saints) is an encyclopedic text in 68 folio volumes of documents examining the lives of Christian saints, in essence a critical hagiography, which is organized according to each saint's feast day. The project was conceived and begun by Jesuit Heribert Rosweyde. After his death in 1629, the Jesuit scholar Jean Bolland ('Bollandus', 1596–1665) continued the work, which was gradually finished over the centuries by the Bollandists, who continue to edit and publish the Acta Sanctorum.

Corpus Christianorum is a major publishing undertaking of the Belgian publisher Brepols devoted to patristic and medieval Latin texts. The principal series are the Series Graeca(CCSG), Series Latina (CCSL), and the Continuatio Mediævalis (CCCM). There is also a smaller section, the Series Apocryphorum (CCSA), devoted to Apocryphal works, and a collection of autographs, the Autographa Medii Ævi (CCAMA). In the series Conciliorum Oecumenicorum Generaliumque Decreta (COGD) is published confessional documents from Churches and Ecumenical organizations in the World with start in Nicæa 325 until today. The principal series are seen in some ways as successors to Migne's Patrologiae.

      Patrologia Graeca (or Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca) is an edited collection of writings by the Christian Church Fathers and various secular writers, in the Greek language. It consists of 161 volumes produced in 1857–1866 by J. P. Migne's Imprimerie Catholique, Paris. It includes both the Eastern Fathers and those Western authors who wrote before Latin became predominant in the Western Church in the 3rd century, e.g. the early writings collectively known as the Apostolic Fathers, such as the First and Second Epistle of Clement, the Shepherd of Hermas, Eusebius, Origen, and the Cappadocian Fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa.

      Patrologia Latina is an enormous collection of the writings of the Church Fathers and other ecclesiastical writers published by Jacques-Paul Migne between 1844 and 1855, with indices published between 1862 and 1865. Although consisting of reprints of old editions, which often contain mistakes and do not comply with modern standards of scholarship, the series, due to its availability (it is present in many academic libraries) and the fact that it incorporates many texts of which no modern critical edition is available, is still widely used by scholars of the Middle Ages and is in this respect comparable to the Monumenta Germaniae Historica. The Patrologia Latina is one part of the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, the second part of which is the Patrologia Graeco-Latina, consisting of patristic and medieval Greek works with Latin translation.

      Apostolicae Sedis (Latin for "Acts of the Apostolic See"), often cited as AAS, is the official gazette of the Holy See, appearing about twelve times a year. It was established by Pope Pius X with the decree Promulgandi Pontificias Constitutiones (29 September 1908), and publication began in January 1909. It contains all the principal decrees, encyclical letters, decisions of Roman congregations, and notices of ecclesiastical appointments. The laws contained in it are to be considered promulgated when published, and effective three months from date of issue, unless a shorter or longer time is specified in the law. It replaced a similar publication that had existed since 1865, under the title of Acta Sanctae Sedis

      Sacrorum conciliorum nova et amplissima collectio. Mansi Publisher:Graz : Akademische Druck- u. Verlagsanstalt, 1960-

      Thomas Aquinas - Opera Omnia, Leonine Edition (1882-) This Leonine Edition of Opera Omnia is the standard critical edition. The definitive text of Aquinas's writings is being published by the Leonine Commission, established by Pope Leo XIII in 1880. Pope Leo XIII entrusted the Dominican Order with the task of editing a critical edition of the works of St. Thomas Aquinas in Latin. The work of the Leonine Commission is still unfinished. The Corpus Thomisticum website presents the entirety of the works of St. Thomas Aquinas in Latin. For the most updated version of the Opera Omnia, click here.

      The Rolls Series, official title The Chronicles and Memorials of Great Britain and Ireland during the Middle Ages, is a major collection of British and Irish historical materials and primary sources, published in the second half of the 19th century. Some 255 volumes, representing 99 separate works, were published. Almost all the great medieval English chronicles were included; most of the existing editions, published by the scholars of the 17th and 18th centuries, were unsatisfactory.

      The Corpus Scriptorum Christianorum Orientalium is an important multilingual collection of Eastern Christian texts with over 600 volumes published since its foundation in 1903 by Louvain Catholic University in Belgium and The Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C.. The present Secretary General is Andrea Schmidt of Louvain University (French Section in Louvain-la-Neuve). 240 volumes are devoted to Syriac writers. There are also sections for works in Arabic, Coptic, Ethiopian, Armenian and Georgian. The total number of publications also includes just over a hundred monographs.

      The Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum (CSEL) is a series of critical editions of the Latin Church Fathers published by a committee of the Austrian Academy of Sciences. The CSEL is intended to include the ecclesiastical authors who wrote in Latin from the late 2nd century until the death of Bede in 735. The texts are edited on the basis of all extant manuscripts and according to the principles of modern textual criticism and thus aim to provide a critical replacement for the corresponding volumes of the Patrologia Latina. Since the establishment of the series in 1864 and the appearance of its first volume in 1866, ninety-five volumes have been published, ranging from Sulpicius Severus to Augustine. Some of the CSEL editions have been superseded by more recent editions in the Corpus Christianorum series, and others have been included as supplements to the electronic edition of the Corpus Christianorum in the CETEDOC Library of Christian Latin Texts (CLCLT), which has since been expanded into Brepols' Library of Latin Texts Online.

 

Catholic Research Resources Alliance

The Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA) is a not-for-profit membership alliance of institutions colllaborating to deliver projects and services in support of its mission "to provide enduring global access to Catholic research resources in the Americas."  Our immediate focus is creating access to those rare, unique and uncommon research materials which are held by libraries and archives in North America. 

Monk studying

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We are contributing members.  

 

 

Shelf List of Catholic Studies Room Books

© 2016 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site