Searchable full text and facsimiles of important writings and papers from early America ( early American newspapers and magazines and include the Declaration of Independence and Constitution, the Northwest Ordinance, and Jay's Treaty, among others).
Mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Search or browse the Federalist Papers, the Nuremburg War Crimes Trial, Inaugual addresses of the Presidents, Colonial Charters and related documents, and hundreds of others
from ancient to modern times.
U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873.
This searchable database will consist of a linked set of published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the Forty-second Congress. The first release contains the records of the first two federal congresses, 1789-1793, including the Journals of the House of Representatives (1789-1793) and the Senate (1789-1793), including the Senate Executive Journal (1789-1805).
This site from the Library of Congress will ultimately contain the full text of historically significant newspapers from all the states and U.S. territories published between 1836 and 1922. It is currently in the process of being built and only some states and years are available.
This site supplies in electronic form the full text of classics of historiography, works of methodology, theory and philosophy of history, key works of the historiographical debates, classics of historical erudition, and other related historical works.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
THE JOHN CARTER BROWN LIBRARY is an independently administered and funded center for advanced research in history and the humanities, founded in 1846 and located at Brown University since 1901. Housed within the library's walls is an internationally renowned collection of primary historical sources pertaining to North and South America from the time of its discovery by Europeans (ca. 1492) until the end of the colonial period (ca. 1825).
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
A collection of searchable texts, probate inventories, ground plans, court proceedings, grave art, and maps of the Plymouth colony. Also includes secondary sources such as lesson plans, research papers, and biographies of notable people
The Union Army Data Set consists of approximately 39,340 white males mustered into the Union Army during the Civil War, for whom military, socio-economic, and medical information from several sources throughout their lifetimes has been collected.
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, and more.
This website provides full access to a number of the documents that the New York State Library holds pertaining to the Native Americans of New York. They are still in the process of digitizing their collection, so not everything the library holds is currently available yet.