Banner Image

Asian American Literature: Internet Resources

Web Resources

Asian American Authors

 

Contains links to a list of works by Asian American authors compiled by the librarians of the Harold Washington Library Center and to the Asian Americans Writers' Workshop. The Asian American Writers’ Workshop is a national not-for-profit arts organization devoted to the creating, publishing, developing and disseminating of creative writing by Asian Americans. There are links to works by Asian American writers for young adults as well as to individual authors like Gish Jen, Ha Jin, Jhumpa Lahiri, Amy Tan, and Gus Lee.

 

Asian American Literature

A course page on Asian American Literature with several useful links to related websites including the online journals Darpan and Anagram.

Asian American Literature: History, Classroom Use, Bibliography and WWW Resources

Contains an introduction to Asian American literature, the history of the genre, links to reviews of works by Amy Tan and Laurence Yep among others and bibliography of general reference sources, magazine articles, anthologies, traditional/folk literature, fiction, non-fiction, biography and movies.

Asian American Literature: A Selective Bibliography 

This bibliography represents primarily fiction written by Asian American writers and is divided into two parts: pre 1950 and post 1950 literature. The first part reflects the history of Asian immigration patterns to the US and the second reflects the growth of Asian American communities.

Asian American Literature: Sources for Research
This site contains refereed journals, suggested scholarly books, Asian American bookstores and publishers, Asian American Studies programs, and non-academic
sites dealing with Asian American issues.

 

Asian American Literature/Writers
This site contains an excellent bibliography which was made possible by a grant from California Arts Council and friends. The bibliography lists
collections/anthologies, books about Asian American literature, books about or interviews with Asian American writers, and links to a long list of Asian American writers and their works.

Asian American Writers

Contains brief biographies of noted Asian American writers and links to articles, interviews and book reviews.

Filipino American Literature
This page from Emory University gives a brief description of Filipino American literature highlighting the major themes and works of fiction and poetry with links to related sites.

South Asian Women Writers

This site is sponsored by SAWNET (South Asian Women's Network), a forum for and about women from Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. The bookshelf section features new books, reviews of fiction, anthologies, poetry, non-fiction, cookbooks, authors, bookclubs, magazines, and links to bookstores.

Voice of the Shuttle - Asian American Writers

Voice of the Shuttle is an excellent site for information on minority literatures. The section on Asian Pacific American literatures includes general resources in Asian American literature, resources for K-12 teachers, and links to Asian American Writers broken down by Asian American Women Writers of Color, Asian American Autobiography, authors by name and by racial/ethnic background with links to Chinese American, Filipina American, Indian American, Japanese American, and Korean American.

Voices From the Gap

Celebrating and documenting the creativity of Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women, VG is one of the internet's most comprehensive and well-respected academic databases for women artists of color. We provide innovative teaching and research tools for accessing a global community of women writers of color living and dead, obscure and renowned. The site reaches backward and forward to place readers, thinkers, students, and educators on a bridge which connects the gaps that exist in literature, society, and culture. From the University of Minnesota.

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site