Umphraville, Angus. The siege of Baltimore, and the battle of la Tranche : with other original poems. Schaefer and Maund; Baltimore, 1817.
Origin: The book is of unknown origin. The inside cover contains a scratched off label suggesting the book came from another library or institution before the Mount obtained it.
Material: This book is a collection of poems written by a young American named Angus Umphraville in the early 19th century. The largest poem in the book, “The Siege of Baltimore” is based off the Battle of Fort McHenry during the War of 1812 and includes elements of romantic style of literature and nationalism. He included mock letters before each Canto dedicated to American leaders who participated in the battle. Someone studying early Romanticism literature in America might find this collection useful.
Poem Titles: Siege of Baltimore
Battle of La Tranche
The Bower of Contemplation
Translation of a Greek Epitah
Verses Written On A Summer’s Eve
A Spanish Song
Willie Grey The Blest
Weaknesses: These poems have little value as historical pieces. Little of what Umphraville describes actually occurred and is nationalism. Additionally there is no Table of Contents which can make navigation difficult.
Call Number: E364.3.U56 S45 1817
Worldcat Discovery Link: https://msm.on.worldcat.org/oclc/4872505?databaseList=1271,1708,638
Good, John Mason.The Book of Nature. J.J Harper; New York, 1828.
Origins: The book was owned by the Mount Saint Mary’s Seminary before it was owned by the library.
Book Material: This book is an attempt to disseminate scientific information to a general audience. Scientific research and study in the United States remained within the realm of colleges and universities. Good drew from lectures he had given over the years and tried to present a wide range of scientific research to the general population on topics including the nature of matter, the different systems in the human body and the development of the mind. This book reveals the way 19th century scientists viewed the natural world and human society. Anyone studying the growth of medicine and scientific advancement during this time would find this book useful.
Weaknesses: This book is written from a 19th century scientist perspective which contains out of date theories regarding scientific thought.
Call number: QH 81 .G64 1828
Worldcat Discovery Link: https://msm.on.worldcat.org/oclc/17987832?databaseList=1271,1708,638
Webster, Noah. An American dictionary of the English language : exhibiting the origin, orthography, pronunciation, and definition of words (basically, Webster’s Dictionary). Harper and Brothers; New York, 1844.
Origins: This book was previously owned by Thomas O’ Neill. The owner was most likely the Thomas O’ Neill of Taneytown who corresponded with President John McCaffrey in the 1850’s.
Material: This book is a copy of the Webster’s Dictionary from 1844. The book contains a preface from 1829 regarding the publication of the Webster’s Dictionary.
Weaknesses: There may be some words outdated because of the age of this dictionary edition.
Call number: PE 1628 .W4 H3 1844
Worldcat Discovery Link: https://msm.on.worldcat.org/oclc/21698550?databaseList=1271,1708,638
Montgomery, Zachary. The Poison Fountain : or, Anti-parental education. Essays and discussions on the school question from a parental and non-sectarian standpoint. Wherein the decline of parental authority, the downfall of the family government, and the terrible growth of crime, pauperism, insanity and suicides, in America, are traced directly and unmistakably to our anti-parental public school system. Zach Montgomery; San Francisco, 1879.
Origins: This book is of unknown origin.
Material: The Poison Fountain is an argument by Zachary Montgomery that New England, despite having two centuries of required schooling, produced more white criminals than other regions which do not have required schooling. Montgomery utilized charts and census data to justify his point. His biggest complaint is that the New England system prevents parental control in the education of their children. This book would be useful for anyone studying educational policy in the late 19th century.
Weaknesses: The book is fragile and should be handled with care. Montgomery has a bias in favor of his position which is important to keep in mind while studying his argument.
Call Number: LC111 .M7 1879
Worldcat Discovery Link: https://msm.on.worldcat.org/oclc/4429858?databaseList=1271,1708,638
Leahy, William. Fundamentals of Diagraming. Kenneth Publishing Company. Chicago, 1965.
Origins: This book was donated to the library as part of the Germain Grisez collection.
Material: Fundamentals of Diagraming is a small book containing a diagram method for educating students for English. The diagrams are intended to educate students on the different parts of a sentence such as a noun, verbs and adjectives. Each section introduces a different part of a sentence and then creates lines which connects the words. As you read further in the book, the examples and sentence structures become more complicated. By dividing up the different sections of the sentence, the student would be able to understand how sentences are formed and planned out. This book will be useful to any student interested in 20th century educational history.
Weaknesses: The sentence structures are a little difficult to understand at first.
Call Number: PE 1380 .L45 1965
Worldcat Discovery Link: https://msm.on.worldcat.org/oclc/861081208?databaseList=1271,1708,638
Gems of sacred songs : a collection of 23 celebrated songs by favorite composers. Oliver Ditson & Company; Boston, 1876.
Origins: This Musical book is of unknown origin.
Material: This book contains a number of religious musical scores from a variety of different composers.
List of Composers:
Haupt, Erik. Annapolis, Maryland. Garamond Inc; Baltimore, 1891.
Origins: this book is from an unknown source but seems to be recently purchased or at least rebound in 2015 due to the sticker on the back of the sketchbook.
Material: This book contains 13 charcoal sketches of Annapolis from the 19th century. In the beginning of the book, the author included an basic history of Annapolis and mentions a few interesting sights. The pictures in this book include:
Weaknesses: Some of them sketches are not that good.
The Old Franklin Almanac. A. Winch: Philadelphia, 1862,1863, 1865, 1867, 1868.
Origins: It is not clear where any of these almanacs come from. The 1868 edition is stamped with the name of a city and the date Dec. 5. However the stamp has faded and the city name is hard to make out.
Material: Like all almanacs, these editions from the 19th century contain information about astrology, cosmological phenomena and facts from around the world. However, these particular almanacs contain events of the Civil War and the Reconstruction period that followed. The writers included battlefield events and laws introduced by Congress. In-between these events are included the opinions of the writers in regards to how the war was conducted. A Civil War historian would find these almanacs useful not only for the facts of the battle but also the manner in which the war is described and perhaps even more important, which events were left out.
Weaknesses: Almanacs are fragile and must be handled with care.
Call Number: Z 1215 .E37 F9 1862-1868