Banner Image

Biology Research: Databases for Biology

Basic search of the Mount website for Biology Databases

For Biology choose "Science" as a topic.

Best Databases for Biology

Science Direct 

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 173 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

Journal titles in this database

The Search screen allows filtering.  A broad search s recommended or limiting to our subscription is available for instant access.


 

PubMed and NCI

PubMed 

An index and citation service for biomedical literature.
This version of PubMed includes links to articles in databases subscribed to by the Phillips Library. Many recent articles will not be full text, but can be ordered through Interlibrary loan.

NCI-ATRF at Frederick  (See the research page at NCI-ATRF Scientific Library: Home)

This library is under the aegis of the National Cancer Institute in Frederick. The above link will take you to the actual search page of the library.  Searching here will result in citations that will require you to request the article from ILL  (Use the blank form option).  Requests are filled within hours (on weekdays) electronically.  You can also call and make an appointment to visit the ATRF (Advanced Technology Research Facility) which is open most weekends.

More Databases

Science in Context 

​Science In Context is an engaging online resource proving how science remains integral to every subject and  contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. 

 

JSTOR 

There are 159 Science journal titiles in JSTOR.

 

Oxford University Press Open Access Online Journals 

The Oxford Open initiative expands Oxford Journals' experiments with Open Access publishing models. It includes full and optional open access to more than 100 journals drawn from every subject area.

 

Sage Journals Online    Titles Subscribed

 

Highwire (Open Access)

HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth!

 

PLOS - Public Library of Science 

Full-text, peer-reviewed journals of Biology, Medicine, Genetics, Pathogens, Clinical Trials, and Computational Biology.

Directory of Open Access Journals 

Directory of Open Access Journals promotes free access to scientific and scholarly journals

This link opens in a new window

 
 
© 2016 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site