Banner Image

Photographers and Artists: Home

Getting Started

Go to the Essentials Page and do a Quick Search.

   When searching for postmodern art use the terms:

         ArtModern -- 20th century

         ArtModern -- 21st century

         Artists -- Biography

         Photographers 

On the Essentials Page Search Databases by Discipline for Fine Arts:

Finding Books

When you want to browse the library shelves to know where to look for a topic, you will use the Library of Congress Classification system. All the classification numbers after B (Philosophy, Psychology and Theology) are on the ground floor.  The scheme is available by clicking below::

      The entire LC Scheme is available at : LC

The relevant classes are:

Fine Arts (N)

N1-58 General

N8350-8356 Art as a profession. Artists

Technology

Photography TR

TR1-1050 Photography

TR250-265 Cameras

TR267 Photography -- Digital techniques

TR287-500 Photographic processing. Darkroom technique

TR504-508 Transparencies. Diapositives (a transparent photographic positive, such as a lantern slide)

TR510-545 Color photography

TR550-581 Studio and laboratory

Photography Websites

National Geographic 

Ephotozine  An online photography magazine

Lens Culture: Photography and Shared Territories   Lens Culture is an online magazine celebrating international contemporary photography, art, media, and world cultures.     

Life Photo Archive Hosted by Google

Photography news, reviews and advice from the Telegraph, your source for digital photography, camera and lense advice, reviews and more.

Art Websites

  • Art Dictionary
  • The breadth of terms generally relate to art practice and not artists or movements. This database can be helpful when writing about art, however, and giving one a better understanding of materials and gallery terminologies.
  • Artcyclopedia
  • This resource is much like a database and an internet search engine, such as Google or Bing, but that links only to art related information and websites. According to Artcyclopedia "it has 9,000 artists listed, 2,900 art sites indexed and 160,000 links."
  • ArtLex
  • According to ArtLex "it is an on-line dictionary for artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education. You'll find definitions for more than 3,600 terms used in discussing art and visual culture, along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, great quotations and cross-references."
  • ArtNet - Top 300 Contemporary Artists.
  • Arts at eNotes
  • eNotes is a wonderful free resource for students and teachers. They cover more topics than just art, but their art information section is robust with links to pertinent information in the field including new literary works. 
  • Guggenheim
  • An internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th century, the Guggenheim Museum is at once a vital cultural center, an educational institution, and the heart of an international network of museums.
  • MoMa - List of Artists
  • MoMA - Art Terms
  • The Museum of Modern Art is a place that fuels creativity, ignites minds, and provides inspiration. With extraordinary exhibitions and the world's finest collection of modern and contemporary art, MoMA is dedicated to the conversation between the past and the present, the established and the experimental. Our mission is helping you understand and enjoy the art of our time.
  • Tate Glossary
  • The Tate Glossary online is designed to explain and illuminate some of the art terminology you will find in the collection pages. It contains definitions, most with illustrations, of nearly 300 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.

Selected Contemporary Artist

Selected Digital Photographers

Selected Book

© 2017 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site