Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HIST 276: U.S. Women's History to 1877: Project #1

This guide will aid students in completing their four main assignments in HIST 276.

 

 

Project #1: Colonial Women Annotated Bibliography

This page will provide you with:

  • an introduction to using the library to help you locate sources for your bibliography
  • an introduction to writing an annotated bibliography with examples

 

Library Tutorials

Below you find video tutorials that cover:

  • Navigating on the Library Website
  • Introduction to Research Databases
  • How to Request and Interlibrary Loan

 

 

 

 

 

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

Why Write an Annotated Bibliography?

Annotated bibliographies are a bibliography (or a works cited or reference list) that contains annotations. These annotations do far more than summarize they text. They also allow the author to analyze and reflect on the text as it relates to his or her research topic. Annotations may include but are not limited to:

  • The thesis of the text and/or the author's main arguments
  • A statement on the author's credibility and authority on the topic
  • An analysis of the strengths and weaknesses of the author's argument
  • A reflection on how this text relates to your overall research topic

By writing an annotated bibliography, you are building a strong foundation of potential sources and an analysis of those sources that will serve as the basis of your own research and argument.

Examples from the Purdue Owl

Click the link below to view examples of annotated bibliographies from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL):

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site