Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Rhoads Memorial Archives: Record Groups

Main Listing

Record Group List

 

Record Group 1. Presidents

This record group contains the records and papers of presidents, founders, and officers of the University. The Archives holds the records and/or papers of the following:

The Rev. John DuBois, 1808-1826
The Rev. Michael DeBurgo Egan, 1826-1828
The Rev. John McGerry, 1828-1829
The Rev. John B. Purcell, 1829-1833
The Rev. Francis B. Jamison, 1833-1834
The Rev. Thomas R. Butler, 1834-1838
The Rev. John McCaffrey, 1838-1872
The Rev. John McCloskey, 1872-1877
The Rev. John A. Watterson, 1877-1880
The Rev. John McCloskey 1880
The Rev. William J. Hill, 1880-1881
The Rev. William G. Byrne, 1881-1885
The Rev. Edward P. Allen, 1885-1897
The Rev. William L. O’Hara, 1897-1905
The Rt. Rev. Msgr. Dennis J. Flynn, 1905-1911
The Rt. Rev. Msgr. Bernard J. Bradley, 1911-1936
The Rt. Rev. Msgr. John L. Sheridan, 1936-1961
The Rev. Msgr. Robert R. Kline, 1961-1967
The Rev. Msgr. Hugh J. Phillips, 1967-1971
John J. Dillon Jr., 1971-1977
Robert J. Wickenheiser, 1977-1993
The Rev. James N. Loughran, S.J., 1993-1994
George R. Houston Jr., 1994-2003
Thomas H. Powell, 2003-2015
Simon P. Newman, 2015-2016 

Timothy Trainor, 2016-

 

Record Group 2. Faculty

Records in this group include materials generated by or referring to past and current members of the faculty. This record group contains Faculty minutes, lists, handbooks, syllabi and class notes, and collections.

Record Group 3. Alumni

Records in this group contain information relating to all alumni of the University or collections of their papers. Records date from 1808 and consist of bound volumes of student records, chapter minutes, and reunion records.

 

Record Group 4. Administration

This record group consists of records transferred from University administrative offices.

 

Record Group 5. Academic Departments

This record group contains materials generated by University departments and include syllabi, reports, events, programs, and administrative records documenting the educational life of the University.

 

Record Group 6. College

Records in this group span the social and extra-curricular life of the University.

 

Record Group 7. Seminary

This record group contains records generated by or relating to the Seminary and includes sermons, theses, and student government and administrative records.

 

Record Group 8. Priests

This record group contains materials relating to clergy who had a significant relationship with the University.

Record Group 9. Grotto

Records in this group relate to or were generated by the administration of the Grotto.

 

Record Group 10. Athletics

Records in this group document the history of athletics at the Mount and include records generated by the Department, clippings, programs, and scorebooks. 

Record Group 11. Women

This record group contains records relating to women who were not alumnae but who are associated with the University.

 

Record Group 12. Local Records

This record group is divided into two subgroups: Emmitsburg Town records and genealogical records.

 

Record Group 13. Personal Papers

This record group contains personal papers donated by persons who were not directly associated with the University, but who had a significant relationship with either.

 

Record Group 14. Manuscripts

This record group consists of manuscripts donated to the Mt. St. Mary's manuscript collection. They are arranged in chronological order.

 

Record Group 15. Art

This record group contains artwork of all formats, including oil paintings, watercolors, drawings, prints, and sculpture. Records documenting the acquisition, preservation, conservation, location, background, significance, value, and history of the Mount's art collection can be found in Record Group 4, Archives.

 

Record Group 16. Artifacts

This record contains records documenting the acquisition, preservation, conservation, location, background, significance, value, and history of the Mount's collection of artifacts.


Record Group 18. Oral Histories

This record group consists of oral history tapes and any transcriptions.

 

Record Group 19. Rare Books

This record group contains rare books, bibles, and catechisms, which have been cataloged.

 

Record Group 20. Publications

This records group consists of materials published by or about the University, its alumni or faculty, or persons or institutions with a significant relationship with the Mount.

 

Record Group 21. Military

 Records in this group relate to the V-5 and V-12 Navy programs located at Mount Saint Mary's during World War II, and include as well materials arising from alumni participation in American wars and other military events and institutions.

Record Group 22. Campus Events

 Records in this group relate to campus events such as Convocation, Home Coming, Commencement, and the Bicentennial.

           

Record Group 23. Campus Buildings

 Records in this group relate to the construction, maintenance, and history of campus buildings and grounds.

Records Group 24: St. Joseph’s College

This record group contains the records of St. Joseph’s College, as well as files relating to the relationship between St. Joseph’s College and Mount St. Mary’s.

 

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site