Banner Image

Monsignor Hugh J. Phillips: Details

Librarian and President of Mount St. Mary's University

Burial Plot

Welcome Center Memorial



February 23, 1907
District of Columbia


July 11, 2004
District of Columbia

Monsignor Hugh J. Phillips, of Washington, DC, entered into God's Heavenly Kingdom July 11, 2004.

Monsignor Phillips graduated from Mt. St. Mary’s elementary school in 1923, and the high school in 1927. He later graduated from the college with bachelor’s and master’s degrees. He was ordained a priest from Mt. St. Mary’s Seminary, for the Baltimore archdiocese, in 1935.

The monsignor was the president of Mt. St. Mary’s College from 1967 to 1971; college librarian from 1935 to 1967, college chaplain, and as faculty, teaching theology and church history. He also taught college at St. Joseph’s College, in Emmitsburg, MD, and at Catholic University of America. He was also Grand Knight of the Knights of Columbus.

Saint Anthony Catholic Church Cemetery 
Frederick County
Maryland, USA
Plot: Mt. St. Mary's section

Memorial Prize

The Monsignor Hugh J. Phillips Prize is given to the member of the freshman class who has attained the highest average. Founded by the late Monsignor Louis J. Mendelis, S.T.D., LL.D., C’24, in appreciation of the services of Monsignor Hugh J. Phillips, M.A., president emeritus.

Mason Dixon


The Tourism Council of Frederick County (TCFC) and the preexisting Catoctin Mountains Tourist Council (CMTC) have erected a memorial at the Mason & Dixon Discovery Center on US15 recognizing the leadership of the late Monsignor Hugh J. Phillips in establishing the original Maryland Welcome Center on US15 in 1982.  Msgr. Phillips was a former president of Mount Saint Mary's and longtime chaplain of the National Shrine Grotto of Lourdes, which he restored as a major attraction for visitors from around the world.  He was a great champion of early Frederick County tourism efforts.  

Shown unveiling the marker in conjunction with the new Center's ribbon cutting are: Emmitsburg Commissioners President Chris Staiger, Irene Powell, Mt. St. Mary's president Dr. Thomas Powell, Grotto Administrative Assistant Carol Spoonhour, Grotto Chaplain Fr. Jack Lombardi, Del. Rick Weldon, Emmitsburg Mayor Jim Hoover, Del. Paul Stull, Mike Irons (CMTC & TCFC Boards), TCFC Director John Fieseler, Sen. David Brinkley, Andy Waskie (Gen. Meade), and MD Transportation Secretary Robert Flanagan.

© 2023 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Alma | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site