Your liaison librarian will serve as a contact for faculty within your department to ensure that you are familiar with relevant resources and services. These services include customized information literacy sessions for your class, embedded librarians, interlibrary loan (ILL), Course Reserves, and OER consultations.
Your liaison librarian will inform you of noteworthy enhancements to the journals, databases, and collections relevant to your field. To most effectively serve your department’s needs, please share with your liaison library the research interests, curriculum, and recent developments in your department.
For more information, visit our Liaison Librarian FAQs.
Faculty can schedule research instruction taught by our academic librarians to be integrated with their classes. Our librarians plan lessons around the needs of a class and its relevant assignments. Frequently taught lessons include collegiate research skills; research in specific subject disciplines; and research to support senior and honors projects.
Please invite our librarians to embed in your Canvas course using our recently developed "Librarian" role. This allows our librarians to meet our students at their point of need. The benefits of an embedded librarian include our ability to direct students to recommended databases, resources, and search strategies from within Canvas.
For more information, visit our Research Instruction FAQs.
Assignment development can be done in collaboration with your liaison librarian.
By integrating the use of librarian-recommended resources, we can ensure that students are effectively accessing and utilizing quality resources and scholarship available at no cost to them (e.g., materials from our database subscriptions and curated book collections) while complying with copyright laws.
To place items on Course Reserve, please contact library@msmary.edu or 301-447-5244.
Course Reserves are materials set apart from the rest of our collection for two-hour use in-library only. Course Reserve materials may be library-owned or provided by the instructor. Instructor-owned materials will be cataloged, barcoded, and stickered to indicate their status as a reserve item.
Students may borrow these by request at the main desk; they will be required to provide their Mount ID as collateral. Students may use our high-quality, conveniently located scanners for making digital copies of course reserve materials within copyright restrictions.
Research reference services are available to students and faculty alike. We offer one-on-one research appointments, assistance in finding and accessing resources, and the creation of research guides for subjects, courses, and assignments. Please contact your liaison to discuss your needs.
While our library’s collection is extensive, we acknowledge that there may be times when our library does not have direct access to a book or scholarly article that you may need for your teaching or scholarship. Our interlibrary loan (ILL) service allows for borrowing from other institutions to meet this need. Visit our ILL webpage for more information.
Collection development and curation of both our print and digital collections materials have been managed by our librarians to ensure that resources are available to the community expansively covering all subject areas taught at the Mount.
Library Home | Library Admin | Alma | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site