Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

2015 Award-winning Children's Books: Coretta Scott King Award

2015 Coretta Scott King Winners

Author Award : Jacqueline Woodson

Illustrator Award : Christopher Myers, written by Misty Copeland.

Coretta Scott King Medal

The Coretta Scott King Award is given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions to children's and young adult literature.

In 1969, two school librarians were discussing their love for children's literature at an ALA meeting in New Jersey.  As they waited at a booth for posters of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., they lamented the lack of awards for African American writers and illustrators.  John Carroll, a publisher at the booth asked them why they didn't start an award that would distinguish and honor African American writers and illustrators.  From that discussion came the Coretta Scott King Award. 

The award is administered by the Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table or EMIERT.

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

Author Award Honor Books

Honor Books : Illustrator

Author Award Honor Books

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site