Start your research here with the library's U.S. History databases for secondary and primary sources.
While this multidisciplinary resource includes 10,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals, this link will take you to the results for the subject heading "United States History."
The Decades series features long overviews and short entries discussing people and companies; books, films, and plays; products and technological advances; elections and political movements; and other important topics representative of each decade.
American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is published by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary resources.
Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
American Historical Periodicals offers a documentary history of the American people from the Colonial Era into the twentieth century, presenting North American thought, culture, and society through a variety of perspectives. Focused on American concerns, they were predominantly published in the US or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. From long-running publications to ephemeral titles, each periodical offers a cross section of the developing United States.
Mount St. Mary's subscription includes: (1) America's Historical Newspapers, Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Series 2 and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers. (2) American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Over 320 newspapers from more than 30 states published between 1799 and 1900. (3) The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, Featuring newspapers, government documents and rare printed materials, this collection from the Readex Archive of Americana covers politics, society and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877.