Banner Image

American History Basic Research: Historical New York Times

Limiting Your Search Results

Using the limiters on the left side of your search results screen can help you locate the articles that are most relevant to your research.

Type of Limiter Screenshot

 

 

Publication date

Publication date can limit your search results to just articles found during a particular date range.

 

Document Type

Editorials and letters to the Editor are good sources to find the mood of the day on a subject. Front page articles indicate the importance of a story.  More options include reviews and tables of contents that can further inform on the subject.

 

Subject

Subjects are more than keywords. Keywords are words that researchers use to define their topic.  Subjects are words defined in a "controlled vocabulary" to represent those topics. Moreover, they are hot links to connect to more like articles.

 

Location

Location can limit your results to just articles that pertain to a particular geographic region.

 

The New York Times Historical Database (1851-2014)

 

Access the New York Times Historical Database (1851-2014).

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

Signing Up for the New York Times

Registration

For New Users & Users with Preexisting NYT Accounts

  • Go to the AccessNYT.com Pass page to create and activate your account.
  • Select "Create Account"
  • Complete the Sign-Up form with your Mount email address. When you see the "Start Your Access" screen, you have successfully registered.


Returning Users

Once you have activated your account, you can log into your account at NYTimes.com.

 

Mobile Apps

For iOS and Android apps, visit NYTimes.mobile or your device's app store.

© 2023 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site