Banner Image

2017 Award-winning Children's Books: Caldecott Medal

2017 Caldecott Award

2017 Honor books

The Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book* for children published that year. It was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. Together with the Newbery Medal, it is the most prestigious American children's book award.

The Caldecott Medal is awarded 
by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) division of the American Library Association.


A “picture book for children” as distinguished from other books with illustrations, is one that essentially provides the child with a visual experience. A picture book has a collective unity of story-line, theme, or concept, developed through the series of pictures of which the book is comprised.

Caldecott Award Winner Catalog Search

To find the list of the Caldecott Awards use the Library Catalog. Type "Caldecott Medal" in the search box. The award winning books will appear in chronological order, where the latest winner is first.


A complete list of Caldecott Winners is available at the ALA site.

2017 Honor Books (continued)

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site