Banner Image

2017 Award-winning Children's Books: Lee Bennett Hopkins Award for Poetry

Leo Bennett Award


The Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Award recognizes and encourages the publication of an excellent book of poetry or anthology for children and/or young adults. This award is given every three years. SCBWI reserves the right not to confer this award in any given year. For full details, click here to visit the award's website.

The Leo Bennett Hopkins Poetry award was established in 1993 and is presented annually to an American poet or anthologist for the most outstanding new book of children's poetry published in the previous calendar year.

It is co-sponsored by Mr. Hopkins himself, the Pennsylvania State University Libraries, the Pennsylvania Center for the Book, and an additional sponsor, Pennsylvania School Librarians Association. The winning poet or anthologist receives a handsome plaque and a $1000 honorarium. For full details, click here to visit the award's website.

Click here to visit the Lee B. Hopkins Poetry Award Teaching Toolbox, a blog created and maintained by Sylvia Vardell.


2017 Winners

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site