Skip to main content
Banner Image

Education and Law: Home

Education legislation, as many aspects of government, is handled mostly at the state level.  Information on laws and bills by state can be found at the website of the National Conference of State Legislatures. 

 

Under the Banner, click on Research.  Scroll to the bottom of the Research page, on the right and click on Education.

Scroll down the Education Page to Database in the middle of the page.

EDUCATION LEGISLATION | BILL TRACKING DATABASE

Finding Databases at the Mount

WorldCat is the Mount's default search engine.  It is an umbrella service that includes many other databases but not all.  That is why it is important to use individual databases to zero in on your discipline.  The place to find databases is on the home page of the library on the tab bar, labeled Databases A to Z. Your can find locate databases by subject, or alphabetically.

Education Databases

A topical search for Education in the Databases A to Z yields 13 databases.  Remember there is a difference between databases that provide just indexing that points to articles you may have to request through interlibrary loan, and those that are full text.  There are two that are most widely used.  They are:

ERIC -Educational Resources Information Center - An authoritative database of indexed and full text educational literature and resources. 

Education Research Complete - ERC Complete covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding and related social issues.

Websites to Maryland Law Sources

Online access to the Unannotated Maryland Code and Court Rules. Searching by natural language and citation is also available.

Freely available online version from LexisNexis. This version includes only the text of the law and not the annotations.

Information on Maryland's Code and links to further information and text of code.

The Maryland Code of Regulations is available online from the Maryland Division of State Documents.

Useful pages include Gateway to Maryland LawHow To Guides, Maryland Code Research and Research Tools.

The Web site for the Maryland Legislature provides access to bill information, budget documents, legislative reports, indexes and much more.

Excellent source of do it yourself legal information

more...

The most useful Web links for Maryland Law information

Includes links to Maryland county and municipal codes available online as well as to county and municipal Web sites.

 

This material compiled  by the Univerity of Maryland libraries.

Other Helpful Databases

Newspapers are the best source of up-to-the-minute developments in legal and political matters.  The Mount provides several:

The Baltimore Sun

The New York Times 

The New York Times Historical 

The New York Times Website (See instructions on Database Page)

The Wall Street Journal

The Washington Post

© 2018 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site