Communication Studies at Mount St. Mary's University covers many areas of this vast interdisciplinary field: journalism, broadcasting; public relations; digital media; communication law; as well as the cultural and societal studies that support this field. This is a guide to the literature of these areas. The guide will help you find relevant information through the library catalog and multiple databases, especially Communication and Mass Media Complete, a primarily full-text resource.
In addition, the guide also includes ready access to a wealth of information found on the open web, which will provide you with a sense of this broader field; the organizations that support the study and practice of the communication arts; tools used in practice; and new ways of thinking about communication. Many organizations showcased here have very helpful publications--the kinds of publications that support learning about the community of journalists, broadcasters, writers and editors. They are well worth exploring.
Most databases have a "save" folder or list. EBSCOhost has this feature to save articles. In that database create or "sign in" in the upper right corner of the screen. This list should persist. Be wary of the save button on the right of an article because it just saves articles in a session.
However, on that same right hand panel is a citation button that will be helpful. Most databases also have this feature.
When searching in WorldCat Discovery you have a "cite" function as well as a "link" function. WorldCat Discovery is both the search box in the middle of the page, and the tab
The link is important because it is a permalink that will persist from session to session.
The Purdue Owl Online Writing Lab is a quick, authoritative guide to using the MLA Style Manual.
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the MLA citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.