Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HIST 277: Moden U.S. Women's History: 4: Final Project

 

 

Part 4: Final Project

This page will provide you with:

  • tips for writing a thesis statement
  • links to sources for images, audio, and video for use in your presentation

 

Thesis Statement

For your final project:

  • Your thesis should answer a question of interest to historians of modern American women.
  • Your thesis should be concise—no more than 2 sentences.
  • Your thesis should sum up the entirety of your research project.
  • Your thesis should be arguable—i.e. a reasonable person could disagree with it/it is not a Wikipedia article

Image, Audio, & Video Sources

See the below links to images, audio, and video that can be used in your presentation and are licensed under Creative Commons or are in the Public Domain.

Images

Library of Congress Digital Collections

The digitized collections of the Library of Congress.

National Archives Online Exhibits

Online exhibits of the National Archives.

Flickr: Creative Commons

"Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license."

Photos for Class

"Designed for teachers, this tool allows users to search through Creative Commons images that are appropriate for the classroom. As an added bonus, citation information is automatically included when the images are downloaded."

Open Clipart

All clipart images have been uploaded into the Public Domain through Creative Commons Zero 1.0 Public Domain License.

Pixabay

"Pixabay is a vibrant community of creatives, sharing copyright free images and videos. All contents are released under Creative Commons CC0, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission or giving credit to the artist - even for commercial purposes."

Librestock

LibreStock is a metasearch engine that searches over 40 CC0 image websites.Contains over 60,00 high quality, reusable photos.

Google Advanced Image Search

"Google Image's advanced search function allows you to filter images by usage rights."

Audio

Freesound

All audio files are uploaded with a Creative Commons license. Just be sure to check if attribution is required or any restrictions are in place.

Old Time Radio

Radio dramas, readings, WWII news, and musical performances dating back to the 1920's. This materials is available through Creative Commons licensing, so be sure to review usage terms of each program.

Video

TV News Archive

Searchable, closed-captioned broadcast television news from 2009-present. Includes both cable and network news as well as international broadcasters. Ideal for when you’re making a montage of reports from a major event, looking for interview clips, or need to find mentions of a name or place. Each video lists any copyright restrictions.

Vimeo Creative Commons

Browse the Creative Commons licensed videos on Vimeo.Check the license status regarding use.

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site