Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA): About CRRA

The CRRA provides enduring global access to Catholic research resources in the Americas, beginning with access to the rare, unique and uncommon research materials.

There are twelve areas that CRRA has identified as particular themes and interests of importance.

• Catholic Education
• Catholic Intellectual Life
• Catholic Literary Figures
• Catholic Liturgy and Devotion
• Catholic Missions
• Catholic Social Action
• Diocesan Collections
  • including papers of Bishops
• Men's Religious Orders
• Peace Building
• Religion and Citizenship
• Vatican II
• Women's Religious Orders

The Collection Policy Statement has more information on the content of CRRA.

The CRRA will foster a dynamic scholarly community by:

• creating the freely available portal to Catholic research resources in the Americas;
• sustaining the distinctive network of libraries, archives and other institutions that enable the vision; and
• facilitating internationally the sharing of resources and scholarship.

• Avila University (Kansa City, MO)
• Barry University (Miami Shores, FL)
• Benedictine University (Lisle, IL)
• Boston College (Chestnut Hill, MA)
• Catholic Theological Union (Chicago, IL)
• Catholic University of America (Washington, DC)
• College of New Rochelle (New Rochelle, NY)
• College of the Holy Cross (Worcester, MA)
• Creighton University (Omaha, NE)
• DePaul University (Chicago, IL)
• Dominican University (River Forest, IL)
• Duquesne University (Pittsburgh, PA)
• Fontbonne University (Clayton, MO)
• Georgetown University (Washington, DC)
• Loyola Marymount University (Los Angeles, CA)
• Loyola University Chicago (Chicago, IL)
• Marquette University (Milwaukee, WI)
• Mount St. Mary's University (Emmitsburg, MD)
• Our Lady of Victory Missionary Sisters (CRRA Partner)/ Victory Noll (Huntington, IN)
• Philadelphia Archdiocesan Historical Research Center (PAHRC) (Philadelphia, PA)
• Regis University (Denver, CO)
• Rosemont College (Rosemont, PA)
• Saint Charles Borromeo Seminary (Wynnewood, PA)
• Saint Joseph's University (Philadelphia, PA)
• Seton Hall University (South Orange, NJ)
• Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Dubuque, IA)
• St. Catherine University (St. Paul and Minneapolis, MN)
• St. Edward's University (Austin, TX)
• St. Joseph's College (Brooklyn, NY)
• St. Norbert College (De Pere, WI)
• University of Dayton (Dayton, OH)
• University of Notre Dame (Notre Dame, IN)
• University of Saint Mary of the Lake/Mundelein Seminary (Mundelein, IL)
• University of San Diego (San Diego, CA)
• University of San Francisco (San Francisco, CA)
• University of St. Michael's College (Toronto, Canada)
• University of St.Thomas (St. Paul, MN)
• Villanova University (Villanova, PA)
• Xavier University of Louisiana (New Orleans, LA)

Want to add your collection to the Portal?  First, become a member!  Second, follow these steps below:

• Understand the Scope of the Portal.
• Identify Your Resources and Collections.
• Determine How Your Resources and Collections are Described.
• Optionally, Flag Records as "CRRA."
• Validate Records.
• Extract Metadata Records.
• Create a Workflow.
• Repeat.

Still have a question?  You can check out the entire guide or contact Eric Lease Morgan at emorgan@nd.edu, 574-631-8604 or Pat Lawton at plawton@nd.edu, 574-631-1324. 

• Directory of Catholic Libraries and Archives
  • A comprehensive listing of libraries and archives at Catholic institutions primarily in the United States and Canada.​
• Selected List of CRRA Member Digital Collections
  • Includes links to digital collections, objects, and exhibits from 20 of the 36 CRRA member institutions. 

Membership is open to all institutions whose interest is in advancing scholarship and ensuring easy and persistent access to critical resources.  The benefits of membership are supporting faculty and students in their teaching, learning, and research, making your resources visible through an international database, and becoming a leader in making Catholic resources accessible to scholars worldwide.  The CRRA achieves its mission and goals through the direction and participation of its members.  Become one today!