Research Guides: AMER 202: America in the World: Primary Sources

Links

Ellis Island Passanger Search
Ellis Island Passenger Search database is home to 65 million records of passengers arriving to the Port of New York from 1820 to 1957.
Digitizing Immigrant Letters
The Digitizing Immigrant Letters Project aims to make available on-line letters from the IHRC Archives and other collections (private individuals, partner institutions) that were written between 1850 and 1970 both by immigrants (the so-called “America letters”) and to immigrants (“homeland letters”).
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
Immigration since 1840
Primary sources compiled through the Digital Public Library of America.

Historic New York Times

Access the New York Times Historical Database

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

Using the limiters on the left side of your search results screen can help you locate the articles that are most relevant to your research.

Type of Limiter	Screenshot
Publication date Publication date can limit your search results to just articles found during a particular date range.
Document Type Editorials and letters to the Editor are good sources to find the mood of the day on a subject. Front page articles indicate the importance of a story. More options include reviews and tables of contents that can further inform on the subject.
Subject Subjects are more than keywords. Keywords are words that researchers use to define their topic. Subjects are words defined in a "controlled vocabulary" to represent those topics. Moreover, they are hot links to connect to more like articles.
Location Location can limit your results to just articles that pertain to a particular geographic region.