Research Guides: Mount Archives: Research

Collection Overview

Below you will find an overview of the record groups of our archival collection, including our published finding aids.

Record Group 1 - Presidents

This record group contains the records and papers of Presidents of the university.

Rev. John DuBois Collection (President, 1808-1826)

Rev. John McCaffrey Collection (President, 1838-1872)

Rev. John McCloskey Collection (President, 1872-1877, 1880)

Rt. Rev. Msgr. John L. Sheridan Collection (President, 1936-1961)

Rev. Msgr. Robert R. Kline Collection (President, 1961-1967)

Rev. Msgr. Hugh J. Phillips Collection (President, 1967-1971)

John J. Dillon, Jr. Collection (President, 1971-1977)

Robert J. Wickenheiser Collection (President, 1977-1993)

Rev. James N. Loughran, S.J. Collection (President, 1993-1994)

George R. Houston, Jr. Collection (President, 1994-2003)

Records in this group contain information relating to alumni of the University or collections of their papers. Records date from 1808 and consist of bound volumes, chapter minutes, and reunion records.

Alumni Publications

Fr. Edward J. Flanagan Collection

Record Group 3 - Administration

This record group consists of records transferred from administrative offices.

Fact Books Collection

Record Group 4 - Academic Affairs

This record group consists of the records of the faculty, academic departments, and academic events such as Commencement.

Faculty Meeting Minutes Collection

Dr. Germain Grisez Collection

Rev. Dr. David W. Shaum Collection

Record Group 5 - Student Life

Records in this group span the social and extra-curricular life of the University.

Choir Ensembles Collection

Record Group 6 - Seminary

This record group generated by or relating to the Seminary and includes sermons, theses, and student government and administrative records.

Record Group 7 - National Shrine Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes

Records in this group relate to or were generated by the administration of the National Shrine Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes

Record Group 8 - Athletics

Records in this group document the history of athletics at the Mount and include records generated by the Department, clippings, programs, and scorebooks.

Record Group 9 - Local History

This record group contains papers related to the history of Emmitsburg and northern Frederick County.

Elder Family Papers Collection

Record Group 10 - St. Joseph's College

Records in this group document the history of St. Joseph's College in Emmitsburg.

Record Group 11 - Manuscripts

This record group primarily consists of manuscripts donated to the archives. They are arranged in chronological order and may be searched via the card catalog located in the Archives Research Room.

Jose Antonio Cortina Collection

Record Group 12 - Art and Artifacts

This collection contains art and artifacts.

Record Group 13 - Photographs and Media

This collection contains photographs and media.

Digital Collections

Our digital archival collections are available on JSTOR.

Access the Digital Archives

Secondary Sources

The Story of the Mountain

McSweeny, Edward Francis Xavier, et al. The Story of the Mountain: Mount St. Mary's College and Seminary, Emmitsburg, Maryland, Begun by Mary M. Meline ... And Continued by Rev. Edw. F.X. McSweeny. Emmitsburg, Md.: Weekly chronicle, 1911. Print.

Access Volume 1 (1728-1858)

Access Volume 2 (1859-1908)

Vol. 1 (1): A Time-Line History

Vol. 1 (2): One of the Greatest Generations, 1930-1945

Vol. 1 (3): This Venerable House: Part I: The Beginnings

Vol. 1 (4): This Venerable House: Part II: The Formative Years, 1826-1858

Vol. 1 (5): Mount St. Mary's and the American Civil War