BIOL 200 - Invertebrate Zoology: Home
Where to Find a Scholarly Paper
Suggested Databases
- Science in Context This link opens in a new windowProvides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics - begin with the Invertebrates and Zoology subject pages!
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowOur subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 173 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.
Journal titles in this database - PLOS - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new windowMake sure to browse the PLOS biology collection.
Relevant Journals
Arthropod Structure and Development
The journal Arthropod Structure & Development publishes original research and review articles dealing with all levels of fossil and extant arthropod structure, morphology, and development in a comparative, functional, paleontological, phylogenetic, and evolutionary framework.
Current Research in Insect Science
CRIS publishes original research articles, brief communications, methods reports, review articles, and graphical review articles, covering all aspects of the broad discipline of insect science.
Insect Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
This international journal publishes original contributions and mini-reviews in the fields of insect biochemistry and insect molecular biology.
Devoted to prompt and innovative studies on the basic defense mechanisms in invertebrates.
Invertebrate Systematics is an international journal publishing original and significant contributions on the systematics, phylogeny and biogeography of all invertebrate taxa.
All aspects of insect physiology are published in this journal.
Journal of Invertebrate Pathology
The Journal of Invertebrate Pathology presents original research articles and notes on the induction and pathogenesis of diseases of invertebrates.
Zoological Journal of Linnean Society
The Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering zoology.
Zoologischer Anzeiger - A Journal of Comparative Zoology is devoted to comparative zoology with a special emphasis on morphology, systematics, biogeography, and evolutionary biology targeting all metazoans, both modern and extinct.
Zoology is a journal devoted to experimental and comparative animal science. It presents a common forum for all scientists who take an explicitly organism oriented and integrative approach to the study of animal form, function, development and evolution.
Search Our Collection
Search the Library Catalog
Interlibrary Loan Information (ILL)
Can't find something? Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Students, faculty, and staff at Mount St. Mary's University may use our Interlibrary Loan service to request books and articles from other libraries. Patrons must first be logged in to their library account.
Interlibrary Loan requests may be submitted using this request form.
If you have questions about the ILL process, contact our evening services manager Zach Blanchard.
Suggested Websites and Resources
- Tree of Life TreehousesTreehouses are Tree of Life pages designed for kids, teachers, and the young at heart. The information found on treehouses complements the scientific core content presented on Tree of Life branch and leaf pages.
- Yale - Virtual MicroscopyThe Yale Peabody Museum invites you into the Division of Invertebrate Zoology to explore thousands of high-resolution scientifically and historically significant microscope slides from the Division’s collection. An invaluable resource for both researchers and educators, this virtual microscopy tool lets you browse and search through 150 years of research on single-celled organisms, fossil foraminifera, parasites, phytoplankton, zooplankton, and even reefs through time, and more.
Magnify specimens for a close-up view or see an entire slide in sharp focus to reveal tiny details. A mapping feature identifies where specimens were collected. Annotations point out and identify specific structures in an organism. Thousands of the slides are important for the history of the study of disease.
Hyalella
Female. Whole mount. DIC. 100x.
Library Home | Library Admin | Alma | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site