Research Guides: Hist 202: War Journalism: Suggested Databases

Suggested Library Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary resource that includes over 10,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
American History Decades
Reference sources of American history by decade:
The 20s
The 30s
The 40s
The 50s
The 60s
The 70s
The 80s
The 90s
The 2000s
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Communication & Mass Media Complete is a robust communication studies database with 275 active full-text communication journals.
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
The nation’s premier collection of federal, state, local and international governments and institutions’ documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The larger, full collection that the library subscribes to contains items from both public and private sectors to include resources such as reports, studies, videos, webcasts, and analyses from national and international think tanks; state and local governments; foreign governments; educational institutions; and national and international organizations
JSTOR

Journal topics include humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)
Military & Government Collection™ provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 400 journals.
Project Muse
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
ProQuest
Search all our subscribed ProQuest databases. Find articles on business, criminal justice, education, health and medicine, language and literature, and the sciences. This also includes access to the Baltimore Sun, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
U.S. History in Context
Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary resources.
World History in Context
World History In Context reaches back to the ancient world — and forward to today's headlines — to deliver a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multi-media content put this vast topic into context for students.

American History Collections from the Library of Congress

Library of Congress Digital Resources
A collection of free digital resources provided by the Library of Congress

Other Suggested Resources

Internet Archive
- Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library offering free universal access to texts, movies & music, as well as 624 billion archived web pages. Of note, the Internet Archive maintains collections of film, video, audio, images, and newspapers that are freely available for research and study.
Stanford University's Hoover Institution: Poster Collection
- With over 30,000 posters, this collection covers a variety of topics from military recruitment, war bond drives, and the American Red Cross.
U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center: Open Access Database Collection
- Complied by the U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center, this list of databases primarily covers U.S. Governmental publications ranging from academic military journals to public policy research. Please ensure you are filtering the list based on the "Open Access" type to retrieve available resources
The Wilson Center Digital Archive
- Developed and maintained by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive houses declassified historical materials from archives across the globe, with much of the content available in English translation.