Research Guides: GNSCI 153A: Physiology of Mental Health: Recommended Resources

Subscription Databases

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)

The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO)

EBSCO's largest collection of leading biomedical full-text journals, MEDLINE Ultimate provides medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to over 2,500 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications.

Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Health Source: Nursing and Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.

Journals@Ovid

Our subscription to Ovid includes access to the full-text collections of "The Journal of Physician Assistant Education" (2015-present), "NEJM Evidence" (2022-present), and the "New England Journal of Medicine" (1990-2025). Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire Ovid database collection.

ScienceDirect

Our subscription to ScienceDirect includes access to the full-text of over 173 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine. Additionally, abstract and bibliographic information is available for the entire database of 2500 journal titles, eBooks, reference works, handbooks, and book series.

Science in Context

Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science in Context is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.

DSM-5

A copy of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) can be found on the main floor of Phillips Library in the course reserve. Please see a staff member at the front desk to check this out. This book can only be used in Phillips Library, but you are welcome to scan the sections you need for offsite use.

Open Access Databases

PubMed

An index and citation service for biomedical literature. This version of PubMed includes links to articles in databases subscribed to by the Phillips Library.

The National Academies Press

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.

The Public Library of Science

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication and features journal articles in the field of Biology, Medicine, Genetics, Pathogens, Clinical Trials, and Computational Biology.