Research Guides: Mount Fellows Resources: Home

Books

The Legacy of J. William Fulbright

This insightful collection of essays details the political life of one of the most prominent and gifted American statesmen of the twentieth century. From his early training in international law to his five terms in the US Senate, J. William Fulbright (1905-1995) had a profound influence on US foreign policy, and his vision for mutual understanding shaped the extraordinary exchange program bearing his name. This multidimensional volume covers Fulbright's development as a national and global voice on foreign relations, as he wrestled with the political controversies of the US South during the civil rights movement, worked with and challenged executive power, and shaped the Fulbright program for educational exchange.

The Zen of Fulbright: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change

The Zen of Fulbright shares stories and advice from Fulbright Scholars about what it's like to be part of one of the world's most prestigious scholarship programs. Written by Fulbrighters for future Fulbrighters, this is the book we wish had been available before starting our own Fulbright Scholarships. It is the most comprehensive resource available about what's possible to achieve as a U.S. Fulbright Scholar.

Balik Kampung

Accidentally teaching Muslim students how to sing "Three Little Pigs" during school assembly; thinking your neighbor is a stalker; teaching your student, Michael Jordan how to play basketball in Borneo; going to school in a student uniform...as a teacher - All these faux pas colored the lives of American Fulbright English Teaching Assistants in Malaysia. Since the inception of the program in 2006, over 800 young Americans have travelled to Malaysia under the auspices of the Fulbright Program to serve as English Teaching Assistants (ETAs) in public secondary schools. This compilation of essays, stories, and reflections has been written by present and former ETAs to celebrate the breadth of experiences and depth of connections made possible by this cultural and educational exchange.

My Fulbright and UGRAD: Ten Times Your Application's Impact

Coming from a three-time fully funded fellowship winner and a professional author, the book is comprised of more than 50 documents from the aspirants of Fulbright and UGRAD. It offers a detailed expert analysis of original personal statements and what makes or mars a personal statement. It also includes checklists, pro-tips and quotes from alumni, tips on applying to the Fulbright Student Program, UGRAD and many others. Moreover, it offers advice from former application readers, sample application essays, and practical strategies for maximizing your potential as a Fulbrighter. This is the most comprehensive book which makes your application at least undoubtedly 10X stronger and also talks about the do's and dont's of the application process- so you can succeed.

Writing Science in Plain English

Scientific writing is often dry, wordy, and difficult to understand. But, as Anne E. Greene shows in Writing Science in Plain English,writers from all scientific disciplines can learn to produce clear, concise prose by mastering just a few simple principles. This short, focused guide presents a dozen such principles based on what readers need in order to understand complex information, including concrete subjects, strong verbs, consistent terms, and organized paragraphs. The author, a biologist and an experienced teacher of scientific writing, illustrates each principle with real-life examples of both good and bad writing and shows how to revise bad writing to make it clearer and more concise.She ends each chapter with practice exercises so that readers can come away with new writing skills after just one sitting.

Lab Girl

An illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a stunningly fresh look at plants that will forever change how you see the natural world. Acclaimed scientist Hope Jahren has built three laboratories in which she's studied trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Her first book is a revelatory treatise on plant life--but it is also so much more. Lab Girl is a book about work, love, and the mountains that can be moved when those two things come together.

All In: Expanding Across Nationally Competitive Awards

The world of national and international scholarships is more competitive than ever. Top students from across the county vie for a limited number of awards that provide the funding needed to participate in elite programs that can help launch the careers of those who receive the recognition. Scholarship foundation leaders have an insider's view of the selection process, and experienced advisors prepare students to navigate applications and interviews. Both perspectives are represented here in this new collection emphasizing the importance of engaging a diverse group of students, institutions, and programs in the process as well as expanding the educational experience for students as they apply so that everyone benefits, no matter what the outcome.

The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates

In December 2000, the Baltimore Sun ran a small piece about Wes Moore, a local student who had just received a Rhodes Scholarship. The same paper also ran a series of articles about four young men who had allegedly killed a police officer in a spectacularly botched armed robbery. The police were still hunting for two of the suspects who had gone on the lam, a pair of brothers. One was named Wes Moore. Told in alternating dramatic narratives that take readers from heart-wrenching losses to moments of surprising redemption, The Other Wes Moore tells the story of a generation of boys trying to find their way in a hostile world.

The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer

Physician, researcher, and award-winning science writer, Siddhartha Mukherjee examines cancer with a cellular biologist's precision, a historian's perspective, and a biographer's passion. The result is an astonishingly lucid and eloquent chronicle of a disease humans have lived with--and perished from--for more than five thousand years. The story of cancer is a story of human ingenuity, resilience, and perseverance, but also of hubris, paternalism, and misperception. Mukherjee recounts centuries of discoveries, setbacks, victories, and deaths, told through the eyes of his predecessors and peers, training their wits against an infinitely resourceful adversary that, just three decades ago, was thought to be easily vanquished in an all-out "war against cancer."

More Than a Native Speaker: An Introduction to teaching English Abroad

Accelerate your journey from novice to skilled teacher! In this newly updated third edition, learn step-by-step how to effectively teach English abroad. Gain valuable tips and resources for teaching in an unfamiliar educational system, working with students of varying ages and skill levels, and adapting to life in a different culture. Revised and updated with new research findings and suggestions for utilizing current technology and media tools, this text is also accompanied by a website that is packed with hundreds of activity ideas and links to additional teaching and learning resources.

Teaching Barefoot in Burma

Teaching Barefoot in Burma is tale of a less trodden path through an ancient and long isolated land. This a story is about living and teaching in a land like no other. Senior Fulbright Scholar, Robert Sterken, spent a year conducting research on Buddhism, teaching, and learning about suffering and the dance of life among the most generous people on earth. His travel memoir paints an unusual, intimate, and unique personal picture of the Myanmar people, government, Buddhist monks, racism, political prisoners, students, struggles, festivals, education, hardship, and his reveals his personal struggles, insights, lessons, and joys.

Beyond Guilt Trips: Mindful Travel in an Unequal World

Every year, hundreds of thousands of young people pack their bags to study or volunteer abroad. Well-intentioned and curious Westerners--brought up to believe that international travel broadens our horizons--travel to low-income countries to learn about people and cultures different from their own. But while travel abroad can provide much-needed perspective, it can also be deeply unsettling, confusing, and discomforting. Beyond Guilt Trips helps us to unpack our Western baggage, so that we are better able to understand our uncomfortable feelings about who we are, where we come from, and how much we have.

Educated: A Memoir

Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, Tara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Her family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when one of Tara's older brothers became violent. When another brother got himself into college, Tara decided to try a new kind of life. Her quest for knowledge transformed her, taking her over oceans and across continents, to Harvard and to Cambridge University. Only then would she wonder if she'd traveled too far, if there was still a way home.

Minority Leader: How to Lead from the Outside and Make Real Change

Minority Leader is a necessary guide to harnessing the strengths of being an outsider by Stacey Abrams, one of the most prominent black female politicians in the U.S. Leadership is hard. In Minority Leader, Stacey Abrams argues that knowing your own passion is the key to success, regardless of the scale or target. From launching a company, to starting a day care center for homeless teen moms, to running a successful political campaign, finding what you want to fight for is as critical as knowing how to turn thought into action. Stacey uses her experience and hard-won insights to break down how ambition, fear, money, and failure function in leadership, while offering personal stories that illuminate practical strategies.

Newspapers

New York Times - Website Access
Includes access to breaking news as well as blogs and other online content not included in other MSMU databases.
If you are a NEW USER please use the link below to register an account using your MOUNT email:
- New User Registration
- The New York Times Research Guide
Washington Post (ProQuest)
Comprehensive coverage back to 1987 is available for one of America's most respected newspapers through ProQuest.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper through ProQuest.
Baltimore Sun (ProQuest)
Date range is 1990-current. Includes regional and local news.