HIST 276: U.S. Women's History to 1877: Project #1
Project #1: Colonial Women Annotated Bibliography
This page will provide you with:
- an introduction to using the library to help you locate sources for your bibliography
- an introduction to writing an annotated bibliography with examples
Interactive Tutorials
Brief Orientation
With this tutorial, orient yourself to the new library catalog homepage.
Full Orientation
With this tutorial, learn how to complete the following tasks in the library catalog:
- Search for books, e-books, journal articles, and more
- Filter search results
- Access a journal article in its full-text form
- Request an interlibrary loan
- ...and more!
Certificate of completion available.
This tutorial will walk you through the process of finding an online journal article using the Phillips Library catalog.
By the time you finish, you should be able to:
- Access the full-text of journal articles through the library catalog
- Request copies of articles from other libraries if our library does not have direct access
This tutorial will walk you through the process of finding databases using the Phillips Library website. For more information about finding full-text versions of articles, check out the tutorial on how to find journal articles.
By the time you finish, you should be able to:
- Find a specific database using the A–Z Databases list
- Find the research guides for specific disciplines/courses
The following tutorials will walk you through the process of viewing and navigating the eBooks provided for you by Phillips Library.
By the time you finish, you should be able to:
- Access eBooks through multiple means of search
- Navigate the customizations available within the eBook viewer
Writing an Annotated Bibliography
Why Write an Annotated Bibliography?
Annotated bibliographies are a bibliography (or a works cited or reference list) that contains annotations. These annotations do far more than summarize they text. They also allow the author to analyze and reflect on the text as it relates to his or her research topic. Annotations may include but are not limited to:
- The thesis of the text and/or the author's main arguments
- A statement on the author's credibility and authority on the topic
- An analysis of the strengths and weaknesses of the author's argument
- A reflection on how this text relates to your overall research topic
By writing an annotated bibliography, you are building a strong foundation of potential sources and an analysis of those sources that will serve as the basis of your own research and argument.
Examples from the Purdue Owl
Click the link below to view examples of annotated bibliographies from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL):
Library Home | Library Admin | Alma | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site