Research Guides: HIST 276: U.S. Women's History to 1877: Project #4

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Joyce Appleby; Eileen Chang; Neva Goodwin
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West by Gordon Morris Bakken & Brenda Farrington (Editors)
Call Number: eBook
Women During the Civil War by Judith E. Harper
Call Number: eBook
Latinas in the United States by Vicki L. Ruiz and Virginia Sánchez Korrol (Editors)
Call Number: eBook
Black Women in America by Darlene Clark Hine (Editor); Elsa Barkley Brown & Rosalyn Terborg-Penn (Editors)
Call Number: General Book Collection: E185.86 .B542 1994
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Set by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether (Editors)
Call Number: eBook
Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia by Daina Ramey Berry & Deleso A. Alford
Call Number: eBook

Scholarly Databases

United States History (via Academic Search Ultimate)

While this multidisciplinary resource includes 10,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals, this link will take you to the results for the subject heading "United States History."

JSTOR

Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.

US History in Context

Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary resources.