Banner Image

Native American History: Reference Sources

 

Start your research here.

Use the below resources to locate print and electronic encyclopedias as reference sources.

About the Reference Collection

You will see that the call numbers for the print encyclopedia state that they are part of our Reference Collection. This collection is located on the built-in bookshelves on the main floor of the library between Classrooms 101 and 102. Reference books may not be checked out and are for use within the library only.

eResources

Articles provide scholarly information on specific topics and can be found by searching in the library catalog or one of our databases. When searching for articles, we recommend that you select peer-reviewed articles. Peer-review means that the article has gone through a rigorous editorial review process before being accepted for publication. Peer-reviewed articles are trusted sources to use for your research. You can use the filter on the left-side of the search results page in the catalog to limit your results to just peer-reviewed articles.

The library has a large collection of eBooks through EBSCO. The below video provides an overview on using EBSCO eBooks.

The library has over 150 databases. Each database is discipline-specific and can help you focus your search. Popular databases include JSTOR, Business Search Premier, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, and many more. You can access our databases here: Library Databases. Not sure which database is best for your research? Ask a Librarian!

All of our electronic resources can be accessed from off-campus. When you click onto a resource from off-campus, you will be prompted with the Microsoft Single Sign-On screen and asked to log in with your university email address and password. If you are already logged into another university system, like your email or Canvas, you will not be prompted to log in again.

Print Encylopedias

© 2023 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Alma | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site