Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

HIST 276: U.S. Women's History to 1877: Project #4

This guide will aid students in completing their four main assignments in HIST 276.

 

 

Project #4: Presenting Women's Biographies

This page will provide you with:

  • links to encyclopedias and library databases to help guide your research

 

U.S. History Library Databases

 

American National Biography

American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is published by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.

 

America History and Life (EBSCO)

America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

 

American Historical Periodicals

American Historical Periodicals offers a documentary history of the American people from the Colonial Era into the twentieth century, presenting North American thought, culture, and society through a variety of perspectives. Focused on American concerns, they were predominantly published in the US or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. From long-running publications to ephemeral titles, each periodical offers a cross section of the developing United States.

 

Readex: Archive of Americana

Mount St. Mary's subscription includes: (1) America's Historical Newspapers, Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Series 2 and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers. (2) American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Over 320 newspapers from more than 30 states published between 1799 and 1900. (3) The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, Featuring newspapers, government documents and rare printed materials, this collection from the Readex Archive of Americana covers politics, society and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877.

 

US History in Context

Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary resources.

 

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site