Banner Image

HIST 498: Senior Seminar

German History Sources

 

Bundesarchiv

A small part of the Federal Archives' holdings is already available in digitised form. But above all, the Federal Archives presents lots of description information on its sources via its various research tools.

 

Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek

DDB offers unrestricted access to Germany's cultural and scientific heritage: millions of books, archives items, images, sculptures, pieces of music, theological, political, and art history texts. Also available are collections of essays, speeches, and other non-literary materials for additional context and background material.

 

Facing History and Ourselves: The Weimar Republic Primary Sources

This section of the website offers a sampling of primary source documents from the Weimar Republic. While not comprehensive, the selections found here paint a rich portrait of the time period. The primary source documents are divided into four main categories: Culture, Economics, Politics, and Society. Each category has a short description that covers historical background information and the main issues related to that topic. Many of the documents also have descriptions, questions to help stimulate classroom discussions, and links to lessons or other Facing History resources that may be useful.

 

German History Sources

This site includes translated sources, primarily from the 19th and 20th centuries, complied by Dr. Richard Weikart, UC-Stanislaus.

 

German Propaganda Archive

This collection, hosted by Calvin College and compiled by Randall Bytwerk, contains an extensive collection of translated, German propaganda materials generated during the Nazi regime and Communist East Germany.

 

Nazi Germany Documents

This site contains a selection of translated documents dealing with the rise and fall of the Third Reich (1920-1945).

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site