Banner Image

HIST 498: Senior Seminar

Mount Library Databases

America History and Life (EBSCO)

America: History and Life™ with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

 

American Historical Periodicals

American Historical Periodicals offers a documentary history of the American people from the Colonial Era into the twentieth century, presenting North American thought, culture, and society through a variety of perspectives. Focused on American concerns, they were predominantly published in the US or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. From long-running publications to ephemeral titles, each periodical offers a cross section of the developing United States.

 

Historic New York Times

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

 

Readex: Archive of Americana

Mount St. Mary's subscription includes: (1) America's Historical Newspapers, Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Series 2 and American Religion: Denominational Newspapers. (2) American Religion: Denominational Newspapers, Over 320 newspapers from more than 30 states published between 1799 and 1900. (3) The Civil War: Antebellum Period to Reconstruction, Featuring newspapers, government documents and rare printed materials, this collection from the Readex Archive of Americana covers politics, society and daily life during the American Civil War period: 1840-1877.

 

American National Biography

American National Biography offers portraits of more than 18,700 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The American National Biography is published by Oxford University Press under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies.

 

Catholic News Archive

The Catholic News Archive has thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years... and the collection is growing! Our collection is fully text searchable so do a search on anything that interests you and see it in the context of the newspapers' editorials, pictures, and advertisements.

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)

Provides access to indexing of popular general interest periodicals published in the United States from the 20th century. Coverage 1890-1982.

 

US History in Context

Topics range from the arrival of Vikings in North America all to the way to the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. Includes reference works, news and periodical articles, and primary resources.

 

Scholary Web Resources

National Archives and Records Administration

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.

 

The Avalon Project, Yale Law School

The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

 

Library of Congress Digital Collections

The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

The Vault, FBI

The Vault is the FBI's new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office. Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library, and new, previously unreleased files.

 

Civil War Manuscripts (NEHGS)

This collection contains selected manuscripts from the R. Stanton Avery Special Collections related to the American Civil War, 1861-1865. These collections include letters, diaries, military records, photographs, scrapbooks, and other materials produced by soldiers that provide details about their military experiences as they served during this war. There are similar documents produced by civilians from the home front with reports of local events, family news, rumors, and occasionally perceptions about the war, its causes, or consequences. Although most of our collections relate to Union soldiers and sailors, the Charles Carleton Coffin Collection includes material produced by soldiers and citizens of the Confederate States of America.

 

Women Veterans Historical Project, UNC-Greensboro

The Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project (WVHP), established at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) in 1998, documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I. The WVHP includes a wide range of source material including photographs, letters, diaries, scrapbooks, oral histories, military patches and insignia, uniforms, and posters, as well as published works. Through active acquisition and educational outreach, the WVHP continues to expand its research collection to explore the cultural, social, and military changes in American society that have been fueled by the gender integration of the armed forces.

© 2021 Mount St. Mary's University - Phillips Library
Library Home | Library Admin | Worldshare Admin | Mobile Site